We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, friendly and fun.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arcano

Arcano
Carrer dels Mercaders, 10 | Sant Pere - Santa Caterina I la Ribera, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (El Born / La Ribera)
+34 932 95 64 67
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Arcano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 6,673 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $39
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Fusion, Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
Description: Next to one of the main streets of Barcelona, Laietana track and a short walk from the central market of Santa Caterina, Arcane is the restaurant.Located in an old seventeenth-century barn, mark of beautiful Romanesque arched forms and stone walls that crown many of its spaces.The Mediterranean cuisine is an invitation to the traditional recipes of the coastal region from fresh and balanced dishes that will make your stay a real moment of joy and pleasure.Vegetables, meat and fish dishes are a real specialty Josper house you should not miss on your visit to Barcelona.Our extensive letter without being intended to be balanced, with meat imported from Argentina in vacuum packaging, preserving its taste and quality, pastas and homemade pies, grilled cheese, salads with touches of the house, fresh fish and desserts.At noon, the market offers an elaborate menu with excellent value for money. The restaurant has a private event booked, "winery" intimate and cozy space.And if you just want tapas and peck at the bar have an interesting proposal for this purpose, from fried eggs to escalibada coca bread.And after dinner, nothing better than enjoying our cocktails in a relaxed atmosphere and good music.Oh and if you can not be disconnected from the world, do not worry, we have wifi!Open Monday to Saturday from 1:00 p.M. To 0:00 a.M. And Sunday from 7:00 p.M. To 0:00 a.M.
1 review
“Delicious, friendly and fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Most importantly the food was excellent. Sirloin and veal were cooked and seasoned perfectly. The sauces, which were not needed, were also delicious. We arrived very close to closing but the staff didn't hesitate to seat us and wait on us hand and foot despite being the last couple in the restaurant. Luca, our waiter and the bartender were very entertaining and extremely friendly. The dessert was as good as the meal. This was the best dinner my girlfriend and I had while in Europe and definitely recommend to anyone in Barcelona.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
If you've lived a special night, our goal is compliment. Thanks for coming and for your comment. Hope to see you soon! . Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    617
    244
    47
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Worth the visit, faster, with quality, service in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is not easy to find, but worth the visit. I had a great empanada de carne and then the sirlion with fois gras, outstanding. The wine selection is not huge, but has some good and with the right cost choice. The staff is polite. There is a free wifi, nice when you are eating alone as I did. Enjoy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restaurante A, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por tus comentarios, tratamos de mejorar día a día y nos motiva la pasión por la gastronomía.

Saludos
Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great price, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Although it's a little out of the way and can be hard to find this restaurant was well worth our confusion. We were there quite late on a Sunday when most other restaurants were closed but this place was still full at 12. The waiters were lovely and there wasn't too long a wait for the food which was amazing and in generous portions. The only negative I'd have is that it's not spanish food, so don't expect to find patatas bravas on the menu!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thanks for coming. We appreciate your comments. Remember that you can follow our news and events on Facebook/arcanorestaurante. Hope to see you soon! . Best regards ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good food, mediocre service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here last night, and the food and wine was quite good. The service on the other hand was not great. Our waiter made us feel like we were in the way, and he was always in a great hurry to move on. And he forgot about us twice. Nothing spectacular about this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
restaurante A, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for giving us your opinion, really regret that food service has not lived up to your pretensions.

Actually put all our emphasis on service, in care, in kindness, in empathy ... by which we believe must have been a very busy night. not for this reason that justify our flaw, on the contrary we are working to improve on these particular days.

Regards, and again apologies hoping to get another chance to provide the gastronomic service you deserve .

Sincerely
Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fife
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great find, Good value lunch. A real must if you find it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Found this place using the Trip advisor app, Its up a side street so you have to go looking for it, But trust me its worth looking out for it, During our trip i felt a bit let down but some of our choices to eat, Most were overpriced for what you were getting and was really let down by bad service which i really dont have patience for, However this place well made up for that and more, We went for lunch and had the market menu which was a set course and every single serving was amazing my main which i paid a small supplement was rib eye steak and was really worth what we paid in total for the whole 3 courses, The service was great as was the wine. The owners and staff are all Spanish and above all theu actually care about you and your experience, I expect this place to carry on getting good reviews and making its way to the top of the eating charts in Barca, A real must!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thanks for coming and for your comments. Hope to see you soon ;) Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arcano also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Arcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arcano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.