We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, amazing location, superb experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arcano

Arcano
Carrer dels Mercaders, 10 | Sant Pere - Santa Caterina I la Ribera, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
+34 932 95 64 67
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Arcano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 6,427 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $18 - $43
Cuisines: Argentinean, Mediterranean, Spanish, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Next to one of the main streets of Barcelona, Laietana track and a short walk from the central market of Santa Caterina, Arcane is the restaurant.Located in an old seventeenth-century barn, mark of beautiful Romanesque arched forms and stone walls that crown many of its spaces.The Mediterranean cuisine is an invitation to the traditional recipes of the coastal region from fresh and balanced dishes that will make your stay a real moment of joy and pleasure.Vegetables, meat and fish dishes are a real specialty Josper house you should not miss on your visit to Barcelona.Our extensive letter without being intended to be balanced, with meat imported from Argentina in vacuum packaging, preserving its taste and quality, pastas and homemade pies, grilled cheese, salads with touches of the house, fresh fish and desserts.At noon, the market offers an elaborate menu with excellent value for money. The restaurant has a private event booked, "winery" intimate and cozy space.And if you just want tapas and peck at the bar have an interesting proposal for this purpose, from fried eggs to escalibada coca bread.And after dinner, nothing better than enjoying our cocktails in a relaxed atmosphere and good music.Oh and if you can not be disconnected from the world, do not worry, we have wifi!Open Monday to Saturday from 1:00 p.M. To 0:00 a.M. And Sunday from 7:00 p.M. To 0:00 a.M.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food, amazing location, superb experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Dinner, several days during the 2013 Mobile World Congress. Excellent always. Amazing service, very personal, always felt we were the only ones there, and the place was pretty much full. Reservations are key, and easy to make (mail or phone even the same day) and you can chose for a nice table for 2, or a larger one for your group of 15. The Cellar is excellent for small parties or celebration, you can be seated among hundred of bottles in a unique place.

Their chef Mariano knows his stuff very well. There is a nice fusion of Catalan flavors, Latin American dishes and steaks from Argentina. Their wine menu is very comprehensive, from local cheap Tempranillos, to high end bottles. Don't be shy and ask Gaby, the owner, for that special bottle that is not on the menu ... he always has one reserved for friends and the price/value is superb.

If you are in a hurry try their empanadas and a glass of red for just 3.5 euros ... can beat that in Barcelona.

So, either for a romantic dinner, business lunch or for sharing good wine with friends, this is the place you want to see in Barcelona.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Thanks for coming. It has been our pleasure welcoming you, Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    191
    41
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
AMERICANBCN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“yumiiiiiiiiiii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Nice place to enjoy good steaks in the heart of Barcelona, difficult to find but onc you are there it's easy to feel a good atmosphere... Gabriel helps it a lot!!!
best "huevos revueltos con foie"... and all kind of meats available, my favourit "tender skirt rare"... and if you can try to finish with a Mascartpone mousse with coffee gelee and...yumiiiiiiiiii.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Comments like yours will drive us forward and help us to give the best possible service to our clients. Thank you! Hope to see you soon ;) Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, España
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“so good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Lunch, February, 2013. Excellent in every way. Food was amazing, a real happening. Very good value for money. When I was asked to choose a wine I left it to the waiter to choose a bottle, we drank it not knowing the price and agreed it was one of the best bottles of wine we had ever had. It was a test of trust, not intentional. When the bill came the wine was just under £30, a bargain. This is not a quick meal and you are never left waiting for more than a couple of minutes. For a tasting menu you will not leave feeling hungry, neither overly full, just right.

I just can not praise our evening out high enough. Perfect in every way.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Thanks for coming and for your comments. It has been our pleasure welcoming you, Hope to see you soon ;) Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An enjoyable spot for lunch...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Having seen this restaurant on Trip Advisor and being in the Born area of Barcelona we decided to give Arcano a go for lunch. The restaurant is tucked away down a very quiet street so you have to know where you're heading in order not to miss it. Upon arrival we were attended to very quickly and shown to a table in front of the open kitchen within a couple of minutes. The interior decoration of Arcano is lovely; lots of open brickwork, dark woods and moody lighting. Very effective even at 2pm in the afternoon. The restaurant was nearly full when we arrived although this may have been helped by the World Mobile Congress currently being held in the city. We were offered both the main menu and also a 'lunch market menu' €12.90 per person for starter, main, dessert and glass of wine or water with bread. We opted for that! Service was a little slow to start with however there was only one waiter covering the whole restaurant and given that he really was doing a grand job. The red wine which we both opted for was delicious for a set menu offering. We were given a small complimentary before our starter arrived which was a nice touch; small brioche with cream cheese and paprika. I enjoyed the asparagus and egg salad to start followed by sea-bream with boiled potatoes and salad and then to finish cinnamon rice pudding. My husband opted for pumpkin and ginger soup, beef with Gorgonzola cream and then caramel cheesecake. The food was well presented and tasty. A decaf Americano and espresso of exceptional quality finished off an enjoyable lunch. Total bill cost €30.50. Interestingly no service charge, €2 for a large mineral water and €2.70 for the two coffees. Good value for money, tasty food in a cosy environment. Would be happy to recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Comments like yours will drive us forward and help us to give the best possible service to our clients. Thank you! Hope to see you soon ;) Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Friendly place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a meal here on our last night in BCN, phoned for a reservation for same night and they kindly managed to accomodate 7 of us. When we got there every table was reserved! Was glad we booked as we wouldn't have got a walk in. Great food and wine, friendly place would def go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Arcano R, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
If you've lived a special night, our goal is compliment. Thanks for coming and for your comment. Hope to see you soon! . Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Arcano also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Arcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arcano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.