We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best seafood I have ever eaten!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiosko Universal

Kiosko Universal
Mercat de la Boqueria, Puesto 691, Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)
+34 933 17 82 86
Improve this listing
Ranked #227 of 6,406 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $20 - $33
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: El Raval
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best seafood I have ever eaten!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Amongst the craziness of all the fresh food vendors selling their wares is this wonderful gem! Charismatic staff serve what I believe is the best seafood I've ever eaten, at a reasonable price. Do yourself a favour and push past the crowds to get here!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    71
    16
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
526 reviews 526 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
426 helpful votes 426 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood - a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This place is located in the Boqueria Mercat. This market is usually overrun by tourists and locals. But don't let yourself put off by the crowds. This market offers a lot of good food and produce.
The best place to eat here surely is the Universal. Most of the menu contains of fish and seafood. The prices might seem a bit high for this kinda place, but surely is worth it! The seafood they serve here is extremely fresh and bursts with flavours. The mixed seafood platter is a good choice to try a bit of everything. The Razor clams were especially good. We also had some fried green peppers with. Just fried veggies with seasalt...but interesting! Wash down your food with some beer or a glass of wine.
The service here is really busy, but they manage to do a good job. One more thing...don't just sit down (and don't get mad because of it). Mostly you have to put your name on the list first and wait until you're announced. But don't worry, nobody's rushing you during your meal. You really have time to enjoy this great great seafood.

If you're in Barcelona and want fresh fish and seafood....look no further!

Wanna know more about my trips? Check my profile (where you'll also find my website).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I discovered this place a couple of years ago and since then, every time come to Barcelona I go there for lunch.
The place is inside the Boqueria Market, once you enter go to the left and you will find it in the corner. Should be easy to recognize as it is always quite busy. Very informal, like a bar. Make sure the first thing you do is to give the name at the counter so they put you in the waiting list. Waiting time is not too bad but it can vary depending on the time you get there and how big the group is.

The food is great, from the seafood to the meat and fresh vegetables. All straight from the market of course! I wouldn't recommend anything specific as everything is great.

The bartenders are very nice and at the same time very professionals.

Will keep coming in the future.
Worth a visit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Absolutely THE BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

After eating the Mariscos at Kiosko Universal in La Boqueria Mercat, I fear that I will never again find such a delicious and satisfying seafood meal. That platter of clams, razor clams, scampi, shrimp, octopus and squid was beyond a shadow of a doubt the best, freshest and sweetest I have EVER eaten. It has set the standard by which all future seafood will be judged! The bread, necessary to soak up the delicious pool of lemon, olive oil and essences left after the seafood has been consumed, and the CAVA they serve there completed what will rank as one of the top meals I have ever eaten anywhere, and trust me, at 63, a seafood lover and a veteran traveler, I have eaten many seafood meals!
The stand is located on the edge of the market to the left and slightly back from the main entrance. It is always crowded, but the wait for a stool at the counter or at one of the high tables set up by the curb is more than worth it.
Yum!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Can you say Razor clams....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just a half block up La Rambla is the Boquita market... we were too tired to explore and just wanted a bite. Luckily we wandered right into Universal...a bar recommended all over Chowhound and Tripadvisor. What a find! Tiny bar tables or the counter are quickly set and drinks ordered...St. Mortiz beers and a coke...a quick look around and we ordered the Mixed seafood special and mixed wild mushrooms...YUM! Fresh, fresh, fresh......the seafood included razor clams, large whole sweet shrimp, squid, langostino, all bathed in oil and garlic...finger licking good. The mushroom were a mix of so many different kinds....chantrelles, enoki, Fresh and delicious.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiosko Universal also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Kiosko Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiosko Universal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.