We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is ok, but way overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Paco Meralgo

Paco Meralgo
C/ Muntaner 171, 08036 Barcelona, Spain
93 430 90 27
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #234 of 6,406 Restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Trondheim
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Food is ok, but way overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Small portions, crowdy, overrrated, overpriced and overhyped, will not go there again. Young and modern, but I prefer value for money. Only high chairs and tables, not comfortable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    258
    63
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Great tapas at a reasonable price. The only issue is it gets very crowded and it's difficult to get a table. The food is very good and the scene is happening. It's one of our go to Barcelona spots & our favorite neighborhood restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seville
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

good and attentive service, good quality, nice atmosphere
value for money is just ok (not very big quantities, and it´s not a cheap place) however the experience overall is good.
in Barcelona, they always offer bread with tomatoe (pan con tomate) but many people don´t know that they charge for it. At this place it´s 1,85€ per person. Legally, when they offer you something which price is not indicated on the menu, it is considered as a courtesy or free. You´re in the right to ask to remove that from the bill, I did and they had to remove it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit don't miss out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Food,service,surroundings, all excellent we went on a Sunday and we had to book so get your hotel receptionist to book for you! Taxi,s are cheap so there's no excuse not to go.an experience not to be missed. Enjoy

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Lips a-smacko at Paco's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

A very good atmosphere at this fabulous tapas restaurant located in L'Eixample area. It's popular with locals and tourists alike, though it is not located near any major tourist hotspots (thankfully - otherwise you'd never get a seat). We are expats living in Barcelona and came here at the recommendation of a Catalan friend. It's the kind of place where coming with a local would probably enhance the experience considerably, allowing you to perhaps venture out from the more usual tapas choices. We turned up seconds after opening at 1 pm on a Monday and when they asked us for our reservation, we thought they weren't serious - that was until half an hour later when the place was packed like a tin of anchovies and we realised reserving would have been a very good idea.

It is super-clean and decorated in expensive neutrals, high tables and chairs, with attentive waiters who could perhaps explain some of the dishes a little more willingly - especially if you're speaking Spanish to them - but overall no complaints with the service. The tables around the bar area are quite closely packed but there are hooks under them for handbags and as long as you are careful, you won't be knocked into when a waiter zooms past with wonderful-smelling dishes for the table beyond.

So onto the menu. There is a blackboard with daily specials which they rotate (the specials, not the blackboard!) and so you have the pleasure of seeing what's on offer on days and weeks to come and can make your return visit plans accordingly. Today happened to be a pork with mushroom casserole, served with bread, which we chose along with some more standard dishes.

We also enjoyed the pan con tomate, which smelled as good as it tasted, and the patatas bravas with the restaurant's own play on the traditional sauce which happened to be so laden with garlic, I couldn't finish mine. The asparagus was cooked to perfection and we also had two traditional puddings and a sorbet, which were enjoyable but nothing out of the ordinary.

The bill came to 42 euro for us - not the cheapest lunch, considering all the menus del dia in Barcelona, but a meal to be savoured in nice surroundings.

So the conclusion? We would definitely return and are already looking forward to the next time we can tantalise our taste buds. Reserve your table and enjoy excellent tapas a la Paco!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paco Meralgo also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Paco Meralgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paco Meralgo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.