We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience but not the best!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante La Estrella

Restaurante La Estrella
Ocata, 6 | Junto Estacio de Franca(Born, La Ribera), 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera)
+34 933 10 27 68
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #197 of 6,423 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $49 - $61
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
Wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A great experience but not the best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

I honestly thought that this place would be mega- busy given it's prominence on trip advisor. But instead we were the only 2 apart from one other party that arrived later.
I have to say that we had a very good meal accompanied by an excellent Rioja, my wife had a egg with truffles & mushrooms to start followed by the cod stuffed with scallop. I had carpaccio followed by the ox cheeks which was my second choice as they had run out of the duck.
It was exquisite food but the portions were on the small side with no accompanied vegetables for the main dishes.
however the main reason for not awarding 5 stars was because of the inability to communicate with the Head waiter or owner. He was a lovely charming bloke but he does not speah a word of English, which when yoy are eating in a place like this means a whole aspect of the experience we missed out on because of our inability to understand Spanish (or more likely Catalan). Obviously this is more our fault than the owners but I pray he learns how to speak English soon as lots of potential English custom er s are missing out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    35
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Local restaurant with star quality - do not miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Checked this out because it was near our hotel and the menu and prices seemed good - but I'm so glad we found it. Don't be put off by the un-flashy exterior. For us this will be a destination restaurant which will make a trip back to Barcelona more likely. Had a thoroughly great meal on the Thursday night (when we'd turned up on the off-chance at 8.45 and got what looked like the last unreserved table - by the time we left the place was full of locals) so immediately booked to return on the Saturday night. So what made it so exceptional?
The menu, even though it's not that extensive, had plenty of choice - though I would say it's not that suited to children. The pricing is keen for food of this quality - three courses for two with bottle of wine, coffee, brandy etc came to under 100 euros. Food was excellent - on the Thursday, chick pea stew with a garlic foam as a starter was great, the cod in tomato sauce was as good as I've tasted any where and the puddings included some fantastic but intriguing chocolate confections. On the Saturday my starter of goat's cheese salad was what this dish should be - a great hunk of cheese expertly toasted with great leaves well-dressed, and the veal cutlet was wonderfully tender and again, expertly cooked. The wine, white on Thursday, red on the Saturday, were both excellent - trust the maitre d's recommendations! He really seems to love just helping you have the best meal you can and his English is more than adequate.
And that points to the real extra attraction of this place - the owner runs the front of house, while his lady heads the kitchen - but they run it expertly - service is prompt and welcoming and even with a full house on both nights the pace was just right. As I said before, on the Saturday night we seemed to be the only tourists in the middle of Barcelona people letting their hair down. A great experience - DO NOT MISS THIS PLACE!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food, unfortunately we don't understand Spanish.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place is located on a back street close to Franca train station. We stopped there for lunch. The menu was very innovative, and the quality of food was superb. Great sole fish anb beef capriccio. Unfortunately waiter (or may be it was chef) didn't speak English, and we didn't understand Spanish either. We saw him explaining the other people how food was prepared, but, we just saw how excited he was about it, but couldn't understand anything. The food is a little pricey, but the quality is so good that it's worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mallorca
1 review
“Unpretentious with excellent quality.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We are four ladies from Mallorca on a weekend break and found this little gem on the internet. The maître made us feel at home, explaining the source and preparation of each dish with great charm as if he was preparing it especially for us. This he did at every table. The presentation of each dish was excellent with the food well-cooked and delicious, and the wine recommended was a perfect match for our dinner. Their speciality is cod, and the two dishes we tried were light and tender with tasty sauces. Their desserts were original with new flavours such as wasabi, cactus and violets. For this quality you would pay much more in many restaurants. The only recommendation we have is for cushions for the benches and chairs!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We dined here last weekend on a city break to Barcelona and have to say the food and wine were all outstanding! The ambiance and the service were excellent and my boyfriend who is a head chef was also very impressed with the food. The focus is very much on Calatan food and you may need a sense of adventure when you order if you don't speak Spanish as the staff do not speak English. However, every single dish was perfection as was the wine. We will definately return to this restaurant and Barcelona - Loved It!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante La Estrella also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurante La Estrella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante La Estrella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.