We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Can Mano

Can Mano
Calle del Baluard, 12, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (La Barceloneta)
93.319.30.82
Improve this listing
Ranked #263 of 6,428 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: La Barceloneta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Went here after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. And was not disappointed. The food was great, and the service was good. Language was an issue with the staff, but they were helpful all the same. Definitely try the seafood.
The Sangria ... not so great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    154
    23
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We got to Can Mano late at night but there was still a waiting list of 4-5 groups of people.
Don't be intimidated by this, go inside, buy a beer and sit on the sidewalk till they'll call you. It worth the wait. Even though this is not the best seafood we had in Barcelona it's still very good and the nice atmosphere of a local un-touristic Barcelona restaurant is very nice. The staff was great (much better than their English but it's possible to manage).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Everything about this place is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were very lucky, as we had a rented apartment literally across the road. We didn't know anything about Can Mano, it was the apartment owner who recommended it as we checked in.

Obvious to see this was no sales pitch by the evening, as there was a constant queue on the street, literally from doors opening to closing (it's not possible to book a table). Even the queuing was fine though, where it's perfectly ok to stand outside and have a beer while you wait in the Catalan sunshine.

Some will say the place is very basic - I prefer to use the word 'authentic'. This isn't 5 star fine dining, but they get the basics absolutely spot on. Great service, great food, great prices.

The menu is predominantly fish based, although there are a few english dishes, as well as small selection of starters. The service is very efficient and comes with a smile.

We had mixed salad, tomato bread, grilled peppers, two fish dishes (battered hake & grilled hake) chips and 4 beers. All for the princely sum of €30 (including the tip). Not a thing left on the plate - and I could say the same for every one else in the place too.

If you're in Barcelona and want a rustic, authentic experience, check this place out. You will definitely not regret it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great neighborhood plce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is not on the Main Street but they get their fish fresh from the market. It is a family affair, small brightly lite, good seafood, throw your expectations out the door and be the only english speaking people in the place. Service is fast. This is not a commercial place, go with the the flow.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very reasonable fresh fish - you have to queue but worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were drawn to Can Mano whilst walking through Barceloneta and browsing the Rough guide. We were attracted by the idea of "rarely a tourist in sight." This wasn't entirely true but given it's high ranking in the Rough Guide the cafe remained unspoilt and with the majority of customers being locals.

We arrive about 2pm on a Saturday and had to wait outside about 45 minutes for a table. The food was fantastic. A range of fresh and grilled fish. We ordered a fried hake with chips and a grilled cuttlefish with fried aubergine. Along with soft drinks the total bill was about 15 euros.

During the meal a small spanish guitar group arrived and played a couple of songs which everyone clapped along to.

This is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can Mano also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Can Mano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Can Mano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.