We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historic place marred by bad service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 4 Gats

4 Gats
Carrer Montsio 3 bis, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
93 302 41 40
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
4 Gats is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,557 of 5,883 restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $0 - $82
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great historic place marred by bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I would have given this restaurant a 4 but the service was just terrible and negatively affected the experience. The restaurant is wonderful to visit and steeped in history, architecturally and in its connection to Barcelona's' art heyday. The food was not the best we have ever had but true to Catalonian roots and very good.
The waiters were both overly hovering and pushy. Unfriendly and literally plopped plates onto the table, bumping into us as they bent low to both place and later retrieve plates and utensils, throwing the utensils loudly onto the plates as they removed them. They suggested a nice bottle of wine without telling us it was the final bottle ( something any decent Sommelier should do, especially with a group of 6 where more than one bottle was likely) then when we asked for another waited until the last quarter of our meal to bring it. (and when they did it had gone bad.)For the prices charged they should know what they are doing. Also it is very loud. The piano is as nice touch, until a bunch of drunk tourists take it over and sing camp songs badly for a half an hour. There are many wonderful restaurants in Barcelona. I would suggest enjoying this one from the outside, perhaps have a drink... and move on.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    291
    338
    180
    120
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Resting on its fame”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Went tonight.good surroundings but terrible service.Pedro, our waiter scowled continuously and threw everything on the table...menu,glasses, cutlery ....you get the picture. Overpriced, ordinary food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grup F, Gerente at 4 Gats, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Our apologies for your bad experience. Our intentions with every costumers are the same for all, offer the best service and bring them the best experience that we could offer, but sometimes we make mistakes.

We are so sorry,

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tourist trap restaurant which rests on their laurels.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I have been to this restaurant maybe 5 times, as recently as June 2013 and then again last night (Sept. 2013). I dreaded going there but my wife wanted to go there as we were with friends and it was convenient to where we were parked, etc. I admit it has a good location and a reasonable looking dining room. My general impression was upheld, the place's food has no originality and the food is NOTHING special. Surprisingly though, the service was terrible. We came a little early and the gentleman behind the bar told us the dining room would open at 7:00. When we arrived at 7:00 the same gentleman behind the bar told us the place would open at 8:00 PM. We looked for a little table in the front cafe to wait, but when we sat down, the same gentleman told us to wait as he wanted to have the table cleaned. He then disappeared and maybe 5 minutes later somebody else cleaned the table for us. We asked the first gentleman if the restaurant had wifi and he said no but insomuch as we could see that there was a wifi link, we asked the 2nd gentleman and he gave us the password. All in all, the hospitality was terrible. I always knew the restaurant was a tourist trap but I never expected such lousy service. Having been to this restaurant 4-5 times, my recommendation is to skip the place, absolutely. I refuse to go there again. On an aside, the place next door is pretty nice, Set De Gotic, another place we have been to several times.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grup F, Gerente at 4 Gats, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Our apologies for your bad experience. Our intentions with every costumers are the same for all, offer the best service and bring them the best experience that we could offer, but sometimes we make mistakes.

We are so sorry,

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Special night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Yes a special night when u think of the history of the place where Picasso use to frequent n had one of his first art showings. Food was good overall the catalan chicken leg n lamb shoulder was the best pick. Service was great n professional with live piano music making it a special night. A little expensive but worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grup F, Gerente at 4 Gats, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your visit and comments.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I ate at 4 Gats about 5 years ago and enjoyed it so decided to return. We asked the hotel to make a reservation for us which they did, but the restaurant had made a weird request for us not to wear beach shoes! I was a bit worried about going in my fit flops, but there was no footwear inspection on arrival so we couldn't work out why they made the request! The restaurant is old and authentic, and well worth going to. Our waiter was attentive and friendly. There was a bit of a problem with our starter (nothing terrible) and we were given a very sincere apology and a free glass of cava each. The food was good (try the shoulder of lamb) and the prices were reasonable for a restaurant with the reputation 4 Gats has. I would certainly go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 4 Gats also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to 4 Gats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 4 Gats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.