We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpretentious fish!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Paradeta

La Paradeta
Passatge Simo, 18, 08013 Barcelona, Spain
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #171 of 6,727 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chowder, Seafood, Noodle
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unpretentious fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant based on reviews we read on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed at all!

The prospect of ordering various seafood by the kilo in Spanish was quite daunting. However, the staff couldn't of been more friendly and spoke enough English to get everything we wanted ordered correctly.

It was a great experience to see the fresh fish on ice at the front of the restaurant and then 10 minutes later see it on your plate! We had the tuna and it put the portions you get in most UK restaurants to shame. It was cooked to perfection. The calamari is also a must!

Don't go here if you want fancy dining. It's low key, self serve and minimal fuss. Great value for amazing produce. Think we might go again tomorrow!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,215
    664
    158
    41
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Disappointing :(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a reccommendation from a friend and had read the rave reviews on here, and were really looking forward to our fish lunch.

You have to pre-buy your fush by the kilo, and the choice was almost all shellfish and tuna. We expected more. The sides were non-existent and the starters and desserts, about 4 choices each. You can only have your food grilled or friend. You have to collect your meal from a hatch in the wall, when your table number is yelled out, and clear your own table afterwards. That, and the cafeteria style tables and chairs made it feel more like school dinners.

The food was fairly bland and unispiring, and we were left wondering hwat all the fuss was about.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Seafood at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went to La Paradeta on a Friday night the queue was so long we thought there must be something in it. The queue went down quite quicky and once inside it was well worth it. There is all manner of seafood and fish in front of you and you just pick what you want. The food is then cooked and they shout out your number when it is ready. All of the food we picked was amazing but the star was the lobster, it was cooked then chargrilled and it was the best I have ever tasted. Never before have I been so please I stood in a queue.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolute Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great food, incredible price and wonderful atmosphere. This is a wonderful local seafood market style restaurant where you choose your seafood fresh from the display and order up on how you would like it prepared. I took my parents and we ended up meeting some very nice people in the queue. We shared a table with a local and a Brazilian couple, and ended up sharing all our dishes together. Be aware not to over order as seafood heaven can turn to seafood torture after one large mud crab. Had to go twice in order to sample everything they had to offer, but was well worth it. We went once in the evening (30 minutes before opening and there was already quite a line). The second time we went around 2pm (much less of a queue). After stuffing our faces with the best seafood and wine in town, we made our way to the beach (10 minutes away) and laid out in the sun. Soon after we made our way to Las Ramblas (5 minutes away via bus) and did some last minute shopping. Best last day of vacation ever.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filsen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The freshest fish in a most authentic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is one of several restaurants belonging to the same company - they serve freshly caught fish which is displayed near the entrance to the restaurant. Customers choose what they want to eat and are asked how they would like it cooked. Simple, sparse decor but the food and wine more than make up for it. A very lively place full of locals which is always a good sign. We had fish soup, mussels, prawns and a fruity white wine - all reasonably prices and delicious.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Paradeta also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Paradeta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Paradeta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.