We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Murmuri Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Murmuri Barcelona to your Saves list
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona
4.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Rambla Catalunya 104, 08008 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Feel the Christmas Season
Ranked #39 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

i like to recommend this hotel because it's a beautiful place to stay...
nice employees, great room with clean sheets and towels everyday,
super restaurant and the breakfast was very good. the lounge is also very nice...
so next time were off for Barcelona.... MURMURI is our place to stay!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    277
    59
    13
    20
See reviews for
125
521
26
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

The hotel is beautiful, the staff is gracious, helpful and knowledgeable. Having access to the Majestic gym and pool was great. We loved this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

My fiance and I stayed at the Murmuri for 3 nights while we were in Barcelona. We were very impressed as it had a boutique feel but also had the comfort and luxury of a 4 star hotel.

Just a little background on us for some more color. We like to travel and typically only stay at 4+ star hotels. Currently in this recession we are able to get great deals and Murmuri was no different. We live and work in NYC, so we enjoy the finer things and are willing to pay a little more to have them.

OKAY, now for the review. First off, the place is small and has a boutique feel. The front desk/concierge was very helpful and friendly and allowed us to check into the hotel when we got in which was around noon.

The room was good sized for two people and had all the amenities that we would expect from a 4 star hotel. The bed was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was well appointed and had a great shower (pressure/rain-like head). Also, one of the features I liked the best was the ambient lighting. You could choose from Ambient, Relax, Welcome, even TV mode. There must be something like 10-15 lights in the room that are programmed to dim and brighten with a touch of a button. It was a definitely a nice touch.

I really enjoyed my stay and it was a nice change of pace from the cookie cutter 4 star hotels like the Marriott, Hyatt, Westin, etc. Don't get me wrong, I really do like the Westin, but it was a nice change of pace.

Breakfast was included with the room and had everything you would want from a continental breakfast. Fresh fruit, croissants, fruit juices, cold cuts, cheese, small pastries, etc.

Overall, I had a wonderful stay and would definitely stay at the Murmuri again if we ever went back to Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

The hotel was a nice, quiet hotel just a few blocks off most busy Barcelona streets. The rooms were clean and roomy, and while originally we were given two single beds by mistake, the next morning we were moved to a double room with minimal hustle. The rooms were very clean and modern but the light switches had only digital controls and were counter-intuitive. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. Although we did not eat at the restaurant, few drinks we had at the bar were great if pricey.
There were few things that did not live up to our expectations. There was no free wifi, and the third party wifi service that was available was very expensive, around 8 euros for 45 minutes or 15 euros for inseparable 24 hours; on top of that it was painfully slow. It felt like nickel-and-diming considering the price of the room and the negligent cost for actually providing this service. Also during our stay the water system had to be repaired so we could not take showers or otherwise use the water for anything but flushing from 10a.m. to 5 p.m.; the next day there was also some scheduled power outage. While the hotel had no problem communicating with us via email over some billing issues, they did not bother to notify us about these scheduled repairs until our check-in, and did not offer any compensation for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

The Murmuri has a wonderful location at the 'top' of the Placa de Catalunya. Its quiet, charming, and amidst great shops and bars/restaurants. The location is perfect for a short walk to the hop-on-hop-off bus, some of the greatest Gaudi sights, and a little longer walk to the hustle and bustle of the rest of Barcelona. The staff was more than friendly and went the extra mile towards being helpful. The breakfast included with the room rate was wonderful. The rooms are clean, modern without being cold, and very comfortable. We would absolutely stay in this hotel again without even researching other places to stay. The hotel is fairly new and there were new employees that were 'just catching on' but it was never a problem. Just make sure, when you ask for directions, you have the name of the street and which corner you turn on . . .

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

My partner and I stayed three nights at the Murmuri. The room was small and clean. The shower had a faint odor of mildew--nothing serious. There was the smell of cigarette smoke in the hallway a few times, but not in the room, which was good. These are the only negatives--the rest was great--nice design of the hotel and rooms, elegant bathroom, cool lobby and elevator. Smoky bar, but the restaurant was isolated from this. We had a great breakfast there every day, and ate dinner there one night as well. For dinner, the menu is thai/continental fusion, which is probably not what people go to Spain to eat, but it was DELICIOUS. For 146 Euros, breakfast included, it was a superb value compared to other four star hotels we have stayed at. And the location couldn't be better--right by the subway and on the Rambla Catalunya. Staff friendly, helpful, and completely fluent in English.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

Spent 4 days at the Hotel Murmuri in Barcelona. Our room was one step up from "Superior", at a rate of 219 euro per, daily breakfast included. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable (with a large patio, complete with lounge chairs and table with umbrella) . The breakfast was ample with fresh fruit, eggs to order, bread, pastries, cheeses, yogurt, etc. Terrific coffee. Hotel staff was excellent, from the knowledgeable front desk group to the ever present, hard working doorman, Roberto. The location was excellent, but not within walking distance to all major city destinations. It is just around the corner and down the street from Guadi's La Pedrea and another block and a half to his Casa Batllo. Metro stop Diagonal is just around the corner, which is a great convenience to reaching the city's more distant destinations( Buy the 10 trip and take the L3 to Park Guell, Museu National, The Seaport, La Rambla, etc.). As a bonus, it was located a half block to one of the best Tapas bars in Barcelona, Cerveseria Catalan on the corner of Rambla Catalunya and Mallorca. If your travels take you to Barcelona, you should definately consider the Hotel Murmuri as your place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Murmuri Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murmuri Barcelona

Address: Rambla Catalunya 104, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#40 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#43 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#53 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Murmuri Barcelona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept of Boutique Hotel opens in Barcelona in March 2008. Murmuri Barcelona is getting ready to surprise you, please you and serve you. A meeting point in the Rambla Catalunya where you can delight in the murmur of the constant throb of the city. Created in an intimate style, with reminiscences of classicism, not forgetting the most modern and sophisticated design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Murmuri Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.