We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel in a great part of town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Murmuri Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Murmuri Barcelona to your Saves list
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona
4.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Rambla Catalunya 104, 08008 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel in a great part of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Small hotel perfectly situated. nearest metro is a stones throw from the door.( Diagonal ) on ramblas catalunya. Hotel Omm with the Roca restaurant about 300m away. Bocachito around the corner. Metro line is direct for Nou Camp and the sagrada familia. 15 minute walk to the old ramblas. rooms are smal but nicely done. Minibar but no free water or tea coffee machine. Wifi is poor . Service is great. Breakfast is good.

Room Tip: If you get an option for view - take it. otherwise its lights on all the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Gerente at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Len D,

I would like to start by saying thank you, on behalf of our entire staff, for your lovely review on TripAdvisor. It is indeed our intention to you’re your visit to Barcelona a lovely experience.

Nevertheless, we are sorry to hear there were some inconveniences regarding the WiFi. First of all, our apologies for the latter mentioned. We understand the issue and are currently working on changing the WiFi system.
As for the coffee machine; this is an amenity available in our junior suite, suite and Murmuri residences.

Overall, it delights us to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we may welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    303
    71
    15
    20
See reviews for
155
591
30
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

i stayed here back in april for my barcelona vacation. small room, but good service, clean, modern, and GREAT location! walking distance from the metro, city center, and casa mila. i would definitely stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our 1st visit to Barca, took the aerobus to Pl Catalunya for E5,75 and then u'd need to jump into a cab to the hotel for roughly E4-5 for the short ride (we made the mistake of walking - 20mins with suitcase!)

Not So Positive:
- no coffee & tea facilities.
- no complimentary water (sorry we're used to this coming fr Asia), n hard to find a convenience store nearby to buy supplies - closest we found was near Zara, corner deli/bottle shop on same st.
- reception & staff not that warm & friendly to us personally, average hospitality level but good standards of recommendations for dining options.
- slight severage smell in our bathroom which ruined the experience. I guess avoid Rm 503.

Our Suggestions:
- don't forget to request for room slippers, very soft and complimentary.
- we also had to request for extra pillows as they were way too soft and we needed more support.
- metro is v close but cost E2 per person for only 2 stops to Sagrada (mite b worthwhile taking a cab if raining for around E5 or less).
- even with the rain, there were still ppl lining up for Sagrada, highly recommend buying ur tiks online beforehand, we walked straight in.

Strong Positives:
- the restaurant in MurMuri is amazing, we ate there 3 times, we loved the Sea Knives /Burcata /Fish Rice / Poussin...so good!
- the location and area was so so lovely, v convenient for shopping and sightseeing, and pleasant just to soak in the city & we also stayed in La Ramblas to compare, and can confidently say, this area wins hands down (away from the hectic hoards of tacky tourists and tourist trap restaurants too).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Gerente at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear chezong,

On behalf of the whole staff at Murmuri I would like to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

Our hotel has indeed an ideal location to go sightseeing in Barcelona. Moreover the main shopping avenue Passeig de Gracia and a lot of Barcelona´s cuisine is within walking distance. Nevertheless, we are sorry to hear there was an inconvenient with the smell in the bathroom during your stay. Please kindly let us know the situation right away during your stay, so we can directly solve it for you.

As far as tea kettle goes, while we agree it is a service we could add in all the guest rooms, let me inform you that the junior suite, the suite and the residences do include this facility in the room. In addition we also have coffee & tea facilities available for our guests on request.
Having thus said, we hope we can welcome you back soon the next time you are in town!

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

First time on Barcelona - lovely city, maybe a bit chilly this time of year. The hotel was very nice - close to a metro stop and in a lovely surrounding area. The room was small but sufficient, clean and comfortable. No view from the room worth talking about. Staff were very nice. Overall a good base to explore the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariacontreras, Gerente at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Fitzy 2,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad you had a delightful stay with us and enjoyed our hotel, the facilities and Barcelona´s surroundings.

May you return to Barcelona, please do not hesitate to contact us. We will happily assign you a room with views to amazing Rambla Catalunya as a repeated guest and if you book a superior room!

Warmly,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hello,

We stayed here for a shopping weekend and my fiance's birthday. The location was great for shopping and for walking to the old town (about 6 blocks stroll). so many nice bars, cafes and good places to eat near by.
The staff were fantastic in their recomendations and guides. It was my Fiance's Birthday so they helped with picking up a special cake having it delivered to the club and making the whole suprise.
I highly recomend this hotel for a weekend city break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We enjoyed our week stay at Murmuri. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms are awesome with an amazing bathroom; I loved the shower. Everything was clean and housekeeping was great at keeping our room prefect. I enjoyed the bar area and restaurant down stairs, it makes for a great night out without having to leave your hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel for any age.

Room Tip: Our room was against the alley and it was a little noisey on Thursday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Wow! A great location with great rooms. Quiet without the issues of the mega size hotels. We arrived early to find the upgraded room ready. Hotel is right near the metro. Friendly, helpful staff.Staff recommended a great tapas restaurant a few blocks away. Went many times during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Sixtytwo Hotel
Sixtytwo Hotel
#23 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 757 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia
Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia
#41 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#7 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#32 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,666 reviews
Eixample
Gallery Hotel
Gallery Hotel
#52 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Eixample
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
#24 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murmuri Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murmuri Barcelona

Address: Rambla Catalunya 104, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Murmuri Barcelona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept of Boutique Hotel opens in Barcelona in March 2008. Murmuri Barcelona is getting ready to surprise you, please you and serve you. A meeting point in the Rambla Catalunya where you can delight in the murmur of the constant throb of the city. Created in an intimate style, with reminiscences of classicism, not forgetting the most modern and sophisticated design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Murmuri Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.