We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a let down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Raco D'en Cesc

Raco D'en Cesc
Calle Diputacio, 201, 08011 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)
+34 934532352
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Raco D'en Cesc is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #326 of 6,679 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $36 - $144
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Eixample
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“What a let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were expecting an excellent service and great food based on the majority of the Trip Advisor reviews. I guess it was not a good day at Raco when we got there. Poor quality food that was over salted and non-existent service. With quite a few good restaurants in Barcelona, I would not bother with Raco.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    55
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara
2 reviews
“New delicious tastes and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

All the tastes were new to me, Everything we ate was so delicious. There were hundreds of wine types. The service was excellent. I can recommend to anyone who wants to try different delicious tastes together with an excellent service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A perfect evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was recommended by a friend of mine, and we were very impressed. Excellent food and cozy dining environment exercised with precison by an attentive staff. The restaurant is partitioned into seperate dining areas that each have 4-6 tables. We were immediately greeted by the sommelier who is just as well versed in beer as he is in wine. Specializing in locally crafted artisanal beers, I thoroughly enjoyed several beers to accompany our 5 course meal including Cesc, specially bottled for the restaurant. But on to the food! Each course was masterfully presented. An early course was fresh tuna served on top of a potato salad. Another course was a perfectly prepared piece of fish with several types of chanterelle and mushrooms. Next was a slow cooked pork back with soft cooked egg and rocket (arugula) lettuce. This dish was very rich and filling and worked best when all the flavors complemented one another. By this point we were was rather full, but next came lamb and mushrooms with a brown au jus slow cooked for 48 hours that was so soft it literally crumbled into delicate little moist pieces. We were so stuffed and enjoyed each course, but then came dessert. I believe they called this catalan flan, it was sort of like a flan custard that was flambeed like creme brulee. A truly fantastic dining experience, topped off by the explanations of each dish provided by Tanya. She was friendly and made us feel like we were guests in someone's home. At the end of the evening she introduced us to her husband Ivan, the chef, who had been busy in the kitchen preparing all of these wonderful dishes. One of my best dining experiences of the past several years. I highly recommend this restaurant if you are serious about fine dining experiences.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A taste of elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Visiting Raco d'en Cesc (I think this means Francesco's corner) after a rainy day in Barcelona more than made up for the wet and cold outside. It is located inside what used to be a house. The decorator made good use of the various rooms and created some interesting nooks and corners that make the place nicely intimate. We went there on a recommendation and were pleasantly surprised by the food, the wine and the service.

Having a master sommelier (beer as well wine) aerating the wine (a white Marti Fabra Masia Carreras) and talking about the secrets of the regional wine was an entertainment in itself. The food was fantastic. We tried a a duck's egg appetizer and for main course a lamb and a baked baccalau dish.The desserts were to die for. This is a family business and our server is the wife of one of the chefs. We loved chatting with her and made our evening go even better. She also played the role of ESPN by getting from the kitchen reports of the score of the soccer game between Valencia and Barcelona. (Although Valencia was up by 2-0, Barcelona won 3-2 at the last minute!)

Raco d'en Cesc is in a central location just a couple blocks from the Universitat Metro station and not far from Placa de Catalunia. It is a real treat to visit it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful food and service. Clearly run by very nice people. Degustation menu was fantastic. We went there twice within a week! Highly rated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raco D'en Cesc also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Raco D'en Cesc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raco D'en Cesc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.