We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Italian” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria La Perla Negra

Pizzeria La Perla Negra
Laietana, 32-34, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera)
+34 933199646
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,378 of 5,883 restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $22 - $29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Decent Italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

When in Spain, don't eat Italian! :) but if you do, you could try La Perla Negra. Nice pizza/pasta menu, very cheap prices. You can eat and drink here for merely 12-15€. I read some bad reviews about the pizza's here on tripadvisor, so I decided to stick with the Pasta Perla Negra (on the suggestions menu). Great choice, nice spinach pasta with a lovely cream/mushroom/shrimp sauce. Great afternoon snack. The interior is pure fake Italian, a little bit tacky. The waiters were quick, but very stressed and therefore not that friendly, which was a shame. This is a real family restaurant, so expect large crowds and lots of children, noisy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

46% Recommend
    13
    21
    16
    7
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Disgraceful !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

The service was grumpy, 3 meals arrived at the same time with the 4th 5 minutes later.
The food was luke warm at best & very bland, the exception being the pizza.
Not worth the money unless you want quick bad service & tasteless food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Four of us went to La Perla Nera on Monday 5th August as we missed eating Italian Food as we usually have holidays in Italy and not Spain.
On reading the menu we were disappointed that some of the Italian dishes were misspelt which implied that perhaps that owners were not Italians (never a good sign) . We ordered pizza and pasta which they were average in quality, especially the pizzas. However what was most disappointing was the service which can only be described as indifferent, unhelpful and abrupt. When trying to get the waiter attention for partisan cheese that should of come with pasta I was ignored by one of the waiters and it took so long to come that my pasta was almost cold. Would not recommend this if you are used to real Italian food of used to decent service.
NO BUENO.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Delicious Pizzas and Pastas made truly Italian-style, not doctored up to seem Italian. Chock-full of locals enjoying their night out.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A hotchpoch of a restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a popular restaurant with value for money dishes. The decor is terrible - there's a little bit of everything and it's all terribly dated (waiters included). The house wine was good and amazingly cheap. Portions are large - I ordered a salad starter which was big enough for four. The food is actually quite good but is served in a style reminiscent of the sixties. Having said that, we actually ate here on two occasions (once because we were caught out by the rain). The food was more than satisfactory but the place is devoid of atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria La Perla Negra also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Pizzeria La Perla Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria La Perla Negra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.