We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value & location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rambla's Home

Rambla's Home
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rambla's Home to your Saves list
Rambla's Home
64 Rambla Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #476 of 722 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great value & location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This hostel feels more like a large apartment being shared by many people. There is a central common area and terrace, which can be very noisy at night and heard from the dorm rooms. This was fine for me as i can sleep through anything but for light sleepers would be a problem. The wifi was reliable and there was a computer for free use too. The location was excellent, right near a metro and close to La Rambla's. I was in a large dorm and it was definitely on the cramped side with little room to store personal belongings. However, I was very happy with the value for money.

Make sure you know the address of the place before you go though, as it is not well signposted!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
2
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights at Rambla's Home in March 2010. It was in a fantastic location very close to the metro and right in the middle of great restaurants and shopping. We had a private room and shared the washrooms with everyone else. We had a cute little balcony that would be great in warmer weather.
The room was fairly clean, the walls could definitely use a very good scrub. One suggestion I have would be to have mirrors in all the rooms so people could get ready in their rooms rather than taking up time in the washroom. It's hard to blow dry your hair with no mirror! haha
The continental breakfast was only white toast, some jam and cereal. It would be nice to include more such as maybe a banana, yogurt or cheese.
Staff was very friendly and helpful with any questions.
All in all it was a pleasant stay and a great price!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

Stayed at Ramblas home in august for about a week with a girlfriend. we found the place quite clean, the rooms where small and at one point we had 8 people in the same room (it was the co-ed room) for it us it wasnt a problem, the people we met there were great :). The kitchen was always available and clean. the washrooms where decent. the showers a bit old, but they served their function. Internet was available as well, which is always good. We felt comfortable and safe throughout our stay. In all we had a good time there...actually better than I expected! the hostel staff were really helpful and nice. I'd probably go back if I was travelling on a budget.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2007

I stayed in the 10 person girls room for two nights and booked because I waited until the last minute and saw good reviews.
Pros: All girls room made me feel more comfortable. Sheets and towels were provided. Community computer available in lounge for use. Very warm, pretty clean, etc. Close to Casa Batlló and Casa Amatller so very centrally located. I felt safe with the location. Also, they provided lockers for you to put your stuff in, and I could fit my duffel and more in there, so plenty of room. Most people I encountered were friendly, so the atmosphere was OK too.
Cons: First of all, although they claim smoking is not allowed, people are allowed to smoke by the window in the lounge, which basically becomes the whole lounge and while it’s not a smoke-filled den, it is still noticeable. Towels provided aren’t exactly the cleanest. There is a charge to use the laundry facilities. Another thing is I guess they shut off the water overnight or something and when I got up early the water ran out in the middle of me brushing my teeth! I went to rinse and there was no more water. Finally had to wake up someone to get him to turn it on and after spurting a bit, brownish yellow water came out for a bit! Gross. Let it run and it will come out clear, but it was still unsettling. Finally at least this dorm room was way over crowded. They definitely should have more room for people.
For 20€ a night it was OK, but by paying a little more I’ve gotten much better deals, so I would recommend shelling out a little more to get the privacy if that’s your thing. I wouldn’t really recommend this unless you were in a similar situation where you were on a budget and with few other options.
Tip: Beds are assigned/picked on a first come first serve basis, so if you want a bottom bunk which is more convenient try to get there early.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of water, smoking
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rambla's Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambla's Home

Address: 64 Rambla Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Hotel Style:
Ranked #476 of 722 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rambla's Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rambla`s Home Hotel Barcelona
Rambla's Home Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rambla's Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.