We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Lasarte

Restaurante Lasarte
C/ Mallorca, 259, 08008 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)
(+34) 93 445 32 42
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Restaurante Lasarte is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 6,955 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $87 - $433
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Eixample
Tromso, Norway
2 reviews
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We managed to get a table during our visit to Barcelona after a few tries. It turned out that they had a cancellation which opened up for us.
When we got there we were welcomed by the nicest and most professional staff. They really made us feel special during our stay at Lasarte. The first impression was that it is a quite small restaurant but very classy.
The food was just a fantastic experience. We went for the seasonal menu with matched wines, and it turned out to be a really good choice. All courses where really tasty and worthy a two star Michelin restaurant.
Before we left the restaurant we where offered a visit in the kitchen and to meet the chef himself. The kitchen by the way was very impressive and about three times the size of the restaurant itself.
We will definitely come back next time we are in Barcelona.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    60
    24
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have been to many Michelin starred restaurants all over the world and Lasarte stands definitely at the top. The atmosphere and the service were perfect: not to stiff and easily adapting to the customers. The food was magic and the chef had to adapt for my husband some of the dishes due to an unusual allergy: we appreciated very much the excellent way he did this. We had the Tasting menu, which is a real bargain with more than 12 dishes which are innovative, extremely well presented and very tasty. We choose a nice bottle of wine and had a very interesting conversation with the sommelier. If we could we would eat there at least every month.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best food in Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We ate the chef's tasting menu, with wine pairings. Expensive, but
Worth it. The chef has brought together imaginative dishes with great flair and incredible tastes. Only order the wine pairing if you are able to drink large quantities of wine - we got 2 glasses of each wine, in addition to the Cava offered at the beginning of the meal. Numerous courses, as the chef said, each course should be only 3 or 4 bites. This restaurant deserves it's place as one of Barcelona's best.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We visited this restaurant in April, I always like to search out a really special restaurant when ever I go away, and this did not disappoint at all,
Everything was just perfect, the service was excellent and the food was certainly top quality, many thanks to all the staff who made our anniversary dinner so special

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
249 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“One of the best Michelin restaurants I have eaten in.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I have been to many Michelin restaurants in various countries and this one is definitely at the top of my list. Several reasons:

1 - The place is nice, well decorated (albeit slightly minimalist) and the setting is just right: not too formal, just enough, nice crockery (in fact a different type of plate for every dish) and brillant waiters.

2 - Prompt and courteous service, with a real effort by the waiters to explain the dishes without sounding too trite. Great effort to speak English too.

3 - A very inventive menu, with dishes which are innovative and extremely well presented.

4 - Very tasty food.

We had chosen the tasting menu, which gives you no less than 12 dishes for something like €140 each. A real bargain, especially as each has a very decent portion size. Some of the dishes are real works of art. In many Michelin restaurants, you get a piece of meat on a bed of posh mash potatoes but here you don't. You really get your money's worth or inventivity and I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants an affordable Michelin experience Spanish style. I would recomment the tasting menu to everyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Lasarte also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurante Lasarte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Lasarte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.