We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Lasarte

Restaurante Lasarte
C/ Mallorca, 259, 08008 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)
(+34) 93 445 32 42
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Restaurante Lasarte is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #733 of 7,854 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $87 - $433
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Eixample
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have been to many Michelin starred restaurants all over the world and Lasarte stands definitely at the top. The atmosphere and the service were perfect: not to stiff and easily adapting to the customers. The food was magic and the chef had to adapt for my husband some of the dishes due to an unusual allergy: we appreciated very much the excellent way he did this. We had the Tasting menu, which is a real bargain with more than 12 dishes which are innovative, extremely well presented and very tasty. We choose a nice bottle of wine and had a very interesting conversation with the sommelier. If we could we would eat there at least every month.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tine-Willem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best food in Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We ate the chef's tasting menu, with wine pairings. Expensive, but
Worth it. The chef has brought together imaginative dishes with great flair and incredible tastes. Only order the wine pairing if you are able to drink large quantities of wine - we got 2 glasses of each wine, in addition to the Cava offered at the beginning of the meal. Numerous courses, as the chef said, each course should be only 3 or 4 bites. This restaurant deserves it's place as one of Barcelona's best.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tqg4ply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We visited this restaurant in April, I always like to search out a really special restaurant when ever I go away, and this did not disappoint at all,
Everything was just perfect, the service was excellent and the food was certainly top quality, many thanks to all the staff who made our anniversary dinner so special

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WMTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
283 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“One of the best Michelin restaurants I have eaten in.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I have been to many Michelin restaurants in various countries and this one is definitely at the top of my list. Several reasons:

1 - The place is nice, well decorated (albeit slightly minimalist) and the setting is just right: not too formal, just enough, nice crockery (in fact a different type of plate for every dish) and brillant waiters.

2 - Prompt and courteous service, with a real effort by the waiters to explain the dishes without sounding too trite. Great effort to speak English too.

3 - A very inventive menu, with dishes which are innovative and extremely well presented.

4 - Very tasty food.

We had chosen the tasting menu, which gives you no less than 12 dishes for something like €140 each. A real bargain, especially as each has a very decent portion size. Some of the dishes are real works of art. In many Michelin restaurants, you get a piece of meat on a bed of posh mash potatoes but here you don't. You really get your money's worth or inventivity and I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants an affordable Michelin experience Spanish style. I would recomment the tasting menu to everyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OYP-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not worth it. If you've never experience a Michelin place then you might enjoy more.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We really wanted to like this place. However, we just came from a visit to France and went to many Michelin restaurants from 1 - 3 stars and most recently ended on a 3 star one. The atmosphere here was definitely more stuffy and stiff compared to any of the ones we went to. It just was not an enjoyable atmosphere. The food was above average and the chef did well. It was expensive and I just felt this time it wasn't worth it. When you are paying this much you also expect service and atmosphere to be better than it was. The food alone didn't justify going. Maybe if you have never enjoyed this type of food and creativity then maybe you would be more impressed. They have an a la carte menu and two different tasting menus. None of the other places made us choose the exact same menu because of my allergy issues and they had allowed my husband to choose the tasting menu and I the a la carte even if their standard is to impose the same menu for the table. However, here I was told that this is a problem for me and the kitchen and as such we both had to do the a la carte.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tx412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Lasarte also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurante Lasarte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing