We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, full of character, you better speak Catalan!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Bombeta

La Bombeta
Maquinista 3, Barcelona, Spain (La Barceloneta)
93-319-94-45
Improve this listing
Ranked #636 of 6,428 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $7 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: La Barceloneta
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great food, full of character, you better speak Catalan!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is one of my favourite eateries in Barcelona. The tapas is really very good and reasonably priced. Their speciality, 'bombs', are a must, but to be fair, everything we had was delicious.

The decor is dated but this adds to the charm. The waiters all run around at 100 miles an hour and NEVER smile, but are quick and efficient.

They have a sign that says that they do not speak English, and they stick by this out of principle, so had I not been with locals, it would have been a struggle. However, I would not let that put you off, the location is great, the food is delicious and good value and it is full of locals so that speaks for itself.

I would advise you to get there early as it is extremely popular and you will have to wait for a table - all the better to enjoy a nice cold drink in Barceloneta!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    215
    70
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Bayern, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Don´t let the aged facade fools you. This restaurant could offer a sensational journey of the tapas cusine.

This is a restaurant for someone who is curious about the original spainish taste. The dining hall is decorated in a way that reminds you of the 80s. It was simple, unsophiscated yet quite appealing. 20 Minutes after we have arrived, there are already queues waiting outside.

The restaurant offers a wide range of sea food, meet and vegetables. I strongly recommen the mixed grilled seafood plate and Gambas al ajillo as well as grileld Sardines. The simple and house wine actually quite match to the friendly and cosy atomsphere. We sticked to the house wines (both red and white) so we couldn´t comment on other wines.

Service is quite good. Some waiter would also chat with you a bit and share with you his good-natured jokes.
The Price/performance ratio is great, justified by the generous portion and good taste. We paid per person between 12-15€ including food, drink and tipps.

Most guests in the restaurant were locals with their friends and family. The tapas I had here remained my favorite in the rest of our Spainish journey.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Here you get good sea food in a noisy, Spanish ambiance with a team of original Spanish male waiters...and you want pay much.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Authentic spanish cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Authentic Spanish cuisine ran by a family, visited mainly by locals and gets quite busy. We had tapas: salad, patata bomba (hot), mussels and fried squid legs. All these cost less than 30 euros, together with our drinks. The atmosphere is also nice! RECOMMENDED!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Delicious and with "authentic feel"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went early, which was lucky because those arriving later had to que. The place has a very authentic feel though it was mainly filled with other tourists when we were there. The waiter did not speak English but we communicated easily anyway and he was very friendly. The food was delicious and the Bombas very spicy! You can see all the tapas displayed in the bar that runs along the side of the whole restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bombeta also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Bombeta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bombeta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.