We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Crema Canela

La Crema Canela
Ptge. Madoz, 6, Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)
+34 933 18 27 44
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #637 of 6,210 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $25 - $37
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: El Barri Gòtic
Description: Cocina Mediterranea con ligeros toques orientales- La inspiracion de este restaurante se traslada a una tienda de ultramarinos, apelando a la formalidad y la nostalgia. Madera robusta, vitrinas con botellas y envases, caracterizan el interiorismo. Fusion mediterranea con reminiscencias orientales en la que conviven en perfecta armonia especias como el clavo, la canela y la nuez moscada junto a productos locales como las verduras frescas, carnes y pescados del dia, otorgando un merecido protagonismo al aceite de oliva Extra Virgen.
Union City, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were actually trying to get into Les Quinzo Nits but it had a line that stretch almost into the middle of the plaza. The concierge at our hotel had said that might be the case and told us to do to this restaurant - and I am so glad we did!! It was busy and we had to wait about 20 minutes for a table but the waiters really kept an eye on the queque and knew the proper order that people had arrived. We shared two starters - the pesto risotto and the grilled vegetables, both were absolutely incredible and we easily could have spilt just one. I had the grilled salmon with broad beans and asparagus and my sister had the pork filet - again, both great. We order one of the most expensive wines on the menu - a Catalyan wine, Coronas Crianza 2010 which was about 12 1/2 euros! It was a wonderfully wine that really opened up as we drank it. We spilt the Catalayn cream - which is similar to Creme brulee and a great way to end the meal. The service was wonderful, the food excellent and the price was great - total for 2 starters, 2 entrees, dessert, 2 sparkling waters and a bottle of good red wine was 55 euros! I highly recommend this palce!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    253
    68
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very good food and lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I had dinner tonight at this place off Rambla and the Plaza Real. The food is very good and the seating is outside which is very nice. The service could have been faster but it was with a smile.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Poor service. Cold food. ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great location next to a lovely square. Lovely decor.
Food when it arrived was not warm enough.
Service was slow. Waiters ignored us.
Disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The restaurant is in one of the busy passageways entering the square of Placa Reial. Staff are very attentive and our food was very good, as was the wine, which were both reasonable priced. We had a table outside the front of the restaurant and had a very good night enjoying both the food, wine and the local ambience. We’re looking forward to our next visit to Barcelona to try more from the menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced, small portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We came upon La Crema Canela while wandering through Placa Reial. Petty theft must be common in this area as is it extremely busy and our server actually took our bags, placed them on an empty chair and pushed it under the table for safe measure - which we appreciated. As a starter we ordered the prawns in red curry sauce, which was decent but very mild and bland compared to typical Thai flavours. For dinner, I had the salmon tartar which was more of an appetizer portion but I couldn't complain due to the price. The salmon was fresh and lovely, however, the overall dish was again bland. We did enjoy our dessert which consisted of tiramisu (or some other cake, I can't remember exactly) served in a plate of sweet milk or something there other. Other dishes may be better, so it's worth checking out if you're looking for a very light meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Crema Canela also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Crema Canela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Crema Canela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.