We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Flauta

La Flauta
Calle D'aribau, 23, Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #320 of 6,910 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Eixample
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quality venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This restaurant is well worth a visit. Always busy with a lively atmosphere and helpful friendly staff. If you want to enjoy an excellent meal or pick at a few tapas whilst enjoying a beer at the bar, you can't go wrong...enjoy!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    432
    89
    25
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“One of the best tapas spots in Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have eaten here several times, and make a point to come back on every trip to Barcelona. The tapas quality is excellent, and there is a wide-variety available. My favorites are the "angry eggs" (fries topped with a fried egg), padron peppers (flash fried green peppers), prawn and calamari brochette, iberico jamon (which is hard to find a bad example of in Spain), the steak dishes, the seafood, the desserts... I could go on and on.

The wine list is varied with examples from every region of Spain. Some excellent bottles of Cava if you move beyond the house-level bottle. For red wine, try the Petalos from Bierzo - great value for a stunning red.

There's a lot of mixed reviews on this place for wait times, and service. My advice is don't come here during the "rush", which is from about 9 pm to 11 pm, as you're experience won't be as nice. I've only sat inside on one occasion as I find the sidewalk seating to be exciting, and the one waiter who does this section is super friendly, helpful, and speaks perfect English (as do most of the staff inside). Do watch your valuables, as we have been approached by a gypsy-type who attempted to take an iPhone off the table, however, this is a problem at every restaurant.

I've been to a lot of nearby patio tapa bars nearby, and have had some dreadful dishes comparatively. Don't waste your money; go to La Flauta!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Dining here was one of the highlights of my time in Barcelona! Great atmosphere, full of locals and not tourists, and fantastic food.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“well prepared tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Probably the best tapas I ate in Barcelona. Both Simple and well-prepared tapas.Just a few blocks outside the usual tourist zone which allowed for a more casual pace and a mix of locals and some tourists enjoying the excellent dishes. Very good value. Not only the best tapas I ate, but alos some of the most resonable priced.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not for the weary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Saturday night there is no rest for the weary at La Flauta. Diners line the walls waiting for their names to be called. The smokers stand around the meager outdoor seating huffing and puffing away.

Once called they are prodded along like cattle to their seats, as waiters rush outward from the kitchen weighted down with platters of food and run back with leavings of a satisfied customer. Then its your turn to order, don't take a breath or your waiter will be off to another chore before you order. He returns and suddenly the food arrives bang, bang, bang and plates are ripped off the table often as you're grabbing the last tasty morsel. Suddenly it is over

This all happens before your feet have had a chance to relax from standing for 30 minutes in the fancy leather boots you bought yesterday.

I thought the food was the best quality for the money I had eaten in a Barcelona tapas bar. The experience is not one I recommend. If you stop by and there isn't a wait for a seat perhaps it will be less frenetic. Try a weekday.

PS
To another poster's point about eating with tourists, like me, arrive much later than you normally eat and you will encounter fewer tourists and more people from the neighborhood. We had supper after 10:30 and most of the people, lining the walls as we left, looked to be from the neighborhood.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Flauta also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Flauta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Flauta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.