We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of sukur

sukur
Calle Avinyo, 42, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)
933010102
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,582 of 6,427 Restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: El Barri Gòtic
Dieppe, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a fantastic meal here. Great value for money, delicious food, and far better than the touristy restaurants. Personnel were very friendly, service was perfect. The decor was original and intimate.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    48
    15
    18
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food was ok but not the best service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

The burger was not good,bbq sauce was ketchup and french fries was a potato. If u go there take the chicken or the lam. We also got one menu at the street and when we came in it was the "winter menu" ao we got a summer menu....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
East Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
“Best meal ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stumbled across this restaurant during our walk round the Gothic Quarter and the seafood in the window looked beautiful. It looked very atmospheric and cosy inside so we decided to eat here.

My husband ordered the steak which looked like a giant jacket potato when it came out...it was huge, and cooked to perfection! I ordered the seafood special (25 euros) and it was amazing!!! I had a huge pile of shellfish, salmon and other fish steaks, topped with 1/2 a lobster and sat on a bed of wilted salad, drizzled with a lovely sauce. It do love seafood and I have to say that it was probably the best meal I have ever eaten, in terms of flavour, freshness, quantity and it was visually very impressive too. My 6 year old had the seafood paella and that was equally delicious, fresh and a huge portion even for an adult!

The waiter service was very friendly and prompt and you could pass the kitchen and see what was being cooked for you. Us ladies were even given an apron to tie around our necks to protect our dresses from cracking open the lobster.

We also ordered 2 bottles of water, a juice and a bottle of very nice house red wine. We were all so full that we couldn't manage a dessert, so the bill came to around 80 euros which I think is an average price for Barcelona.

Lovely meal, come here if you are a seafood fan!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food and prices, best service of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

On our last day of a trip to Barcelona our group of 9 were searching for a restaurant to have a nice final lunchtime meal before heading to the airport. We stumbled upon this restaurant and were quickly greeted and seated together and offered menus. The choice was one of the best we had seen in Barcelona. Not being a big fish fan (and the main alternative in most restaurants being veal steak) I was pleased to see a full grill menu and plenty of vegetarian options that didn't involve fish. Our drinks order was taken quickly and the waiter was friendly with good English, he was happy to explain some of the dishes and then took our order. When the food arrived one of our group had ordered pork tenderloin with asparagus but as he didn't actually like asparagus was planning on not eating this. When it came the asparagus was piled in a mountain, the waiter overheard the asparagus being offered round the table, he quickly asked if there was a problem and although we said no, he returned with a side plate for the asparagus to be transferred onto and another plate of mixed vegetable ratatouille and potato gratin in replacement, compliments of the chef! We were hugely impressed with this attention to detail and with the restaurants desire to make sure we were happy. I did have a bit of food envy at my partner's chicked tagine but I had mousakka and it was divine, cooked just right and the portions were a generous size.
As it was our last day we managed to squeeze in dessert, I had the special; chocolate brownie with ice cream and it was the best brownie ever. When the bill came it was very reasonable even with the 8% tax added.
I would be pleased to recommend this restaurant to anyone, the decor was welcoming and the staff efficient and friendly. The food was excellent and very reasonable. My favourite meal of our stay, we just wished we'd found it sooner in the holiday!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tried on spur of the moment and was pleasantly surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Excellent fish restaurant. Everything was fresh. We choose the fish platter which came with a full lobster, mussels, langoustines, prawns, hake and swordfish. It was huge but delicious and so fresh tasting! A must for fish lovers.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed sukur also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to sukur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage sukur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.