We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Biblioteca Gourmande Restaurant

La Biblioteca Gourmande Restaurant
Carrer Junta de Comerc 28, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
+34 934 12 62 21
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Book Online and Save Up to 30% *
La Biblioteca Gourmande Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
*Some exclusions may apply.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,161 of 6,067 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $32 - $45
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas, Bistro, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: La Biblioteca is placed in the old city center very close to the famous Boqueria Market and 5 minutes away from Les Rambles. Our gastronomic proposal is home style catalan/mediterranean cooking, half portions & tapas, with refined techniques. Almost all of our ingredients are seasonal & from local producers, farmers and fisherman's.
Amstelveen
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This fairly new restaurant serves nice food with a touch of creativity for a reasonable price.
If you like Spanish wines, order the Red Bierzo wine.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    66
    36
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I used to love this place, but am never returning now. To be fair the food is very tasty and service is good, but paying 20+ euros for 3 shrimps is a joke even if they tasted well (normal).

Its too bad, but seems the place has converted into a turist trap.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poperinge, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic catalonion food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great atmosphere ! We tried the surpise menu and that gave us some tapas and seven small dishes. Some of them really wonderful, others just good. Anyway, more than a relief compared by the numerous tourist trap restaurants in Barcelona.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We were lucky enough to stumble upon La Biblioteca because our rental apartment was right across the street from the restaurant. The decor was lovely and inviting, the open kitchen was fun to watch, and the food was outstanding. We shared two green salads to start (YUM), and I had their steak tartare for my entree. It was delicious. There was a hit in a touristy area with a lot of misses.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Top Contributor
423 reviews 423 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Not just for bookworms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a charming restaurant that met our expectations. The menu was not loaded, but the four courses they brought us were all tasty.

The ambiance was dark and romantic with soft lighting and the bookshelves that give the place its name. I recommend asking what the specials are or what is good for that day.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Biblioteca Gourmande Restaurant also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Biblioteca Gourmande Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Biblioteca Gourmande Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.