We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood fideua without the seafood!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Mar de Bo

La Mar de Bo
Plza Pau Vila 1, Barcelona, Spain
93 221 00 35
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,066 of 6,427 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $32 - $52
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
london
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Seafood fideua without the seafood!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband was searching Barceloneta for a decent fideua and in a moment of weakness (which we will blame on the heavy rain), we ended up this place. Le Mar de Bo is in a real fancy pants setting overlooking a harbour alongside similar restaurants that also appear to be trying hard to look up-market.

We ordered fried fish and croquettes for a starter followed by the fideua that we'd searched so hard for. The starters were forgettable, but the fideua was a real disappointment. It claimed to be a "seafood" fideua and rumour has it that it was prepared in the same kitchen as the shell fish that the table near us had a plentiful supply of. Sadly, apart from a very tight portion of clams, the seafood was non-existent for us.

Despite being a pudding-lover, I was so fed up after our main course that we got the bill and left before reading the dessert menu

We were in Barcelona for one week and this was the most disappointing meal that we had.

The price, which was over 100 euros excluding service, reflected the location but certainly not the quality of the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    28
    12
    12
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Looked good, didn't deliver”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Close to the harbour near Barceloneta, very modern and looked comfortable, menu looked good, staff looked good, a result all in all a very welcoming sight!!! What a disappointment the service was second rate and they were more worried about serving the head waiter. Whilst the fried small fish for starters were acceptable they are overpriced. My wife had the Lemon Sole which was again overpriced, not seasoned well and you would expect it to have been finished with either butter or a good quality olive oil. The accompaniments of julienne of carrot and broccoli were overcooked and akin to something you might expect from a school dinners hotplate. My main meal of mixed grilled fish looked OK, was a reasonable portion and was reasonably cooked. BUT it was nothing

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good restaurant ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

The food was good , also the service . Located first in the line of restaurants . A bit expensive maybe ... I guess like the rest ... I was surprised to see in the bill addition of 10% of something ... maybe service ?! although i left . Over all , we had a very nice time there .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Probably the worst restaurant I have ever had the dospleasure to visit. There were 5 in our party and everyone was disappointed by the food and service. The food was very average tasteless poorly presentes and expensive. None of the meals was finished and we left for deesert to go to another restuarant. I wouls say stay well clear. Not to be recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São José dos Campos
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice view in a good restaurant by the marina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Good food, friendly service, a nice view of the marina right by the Museo near the Acquarium, got a nice and rich paella with lobster and my wife a full flownder, with nice bottle of white wine and Catallan cream as desert, water, salad, bread, waterwww.lam and all extras for about 90 euros, is not cheap but compared to others, a good value, we were starving after a whole morning by the beach, otherwise maybe three or four could eat the meal!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mar de Bo also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Mar de Bo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mar de Bo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.