We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Excellent Service at an Affordable Price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market

Market
Comte Borrell, 68, 08015 Barcelona, Spain (Sant Antoni)
+34 932 89 01 30
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,641 of 6,427 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $24 - $27
Cuisines: Japanese, Mediterranean, Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Sant Antoni
Description: Exiting, spicy, healty and different. Peruvian food is a fusion between indigenous, Japanese, Chinese dishes.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Food and Excellent Service at an Affordable Price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

we were recommended the restaurant by a friend who had visited Barcelona a few weeks previously.Upon arrival to our suprise we were met by a fellow irishman called Des who was working front of house. He seated us promptly and read through the specials- we were recommended the cod special, omg it was amazing melt in your mouth stuff! For starters we had a selection of salads,(i'd eat salad everyday if they were like this) and the dessert selection was top notch. Very family friendly. Des and the rest of the staff were great. We rounded off the evening in the adjoining cocktail bar, a nice ending to a lovely evening. This restaurant is well worth the visit. Not right beside all the tourist attractions but worth making the effort, so if you want to taste real mediterranean cuisine the market is the place to go.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    52
    31
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Affordable meal in a lovely dining room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant from the owner of our apartment and as it was the evening of the 1st Nov., there were not many dining options for us in the area.
Nonetheless, we were very impressed with the setting and decor of the room when we arrived. We arrived at 8pm and we were the first ones there! Anyhow, although I am a Spanish speaker I was there with French friends so we were allocated the English waiter. The food we ordered was a hit and miss. The starters were quite good - in particular the 'market special' was delicious. However, the mains were not to that same standard. The pork snitzel was quite dry and the duck dish was very small and served only with a side of pineapple. The veal with chimichurri was probably the winner out of the main dishes we ordered. For dessert I had the creme catalan which was grainy (i.e. the custard was overcooked and not sieved) and had a strange, almost soap-like taste. Not pleasant. The chocolate mousse was below average.
The wine list was very reasonable and we enjoyed a bottle of an excellent Rioja.

Overall, the restaurant was nice but the quality of the food lacks consistency. I would recommend checking what other reviewers have eaten and reviewed favourably before going to the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stunning Set Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Went here for Menu del Dia at €9.95 today and had the best food in the most lovely surroundings anyone could wish for. Oppulent decor and first class meal that belied the price and a glass of wine/water included. Not to be missed when visiting Barcelona!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delicious and beautiful decoration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I went to Market two years ago for my birthday and since then I go every time I can.
The restaurant is beautiful, elegant and modern. The food is amazing, between mediterranean traditional meals with a touch of fusion food, so delicious.
I would recommend this restaurant to everybody, good atmosphere and good food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Nice and fairly priced restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

While staying at Market Hotel we decided to try the restaurant, mostly because it was easy, but also because the Michelin Guide recommended this restaurant last year. 

The restaurant consists of 2 big rooms (one of them is where we also ate breakfast). When we came at 10 o'clock the restaurant was totally packed, so no doubt it's a very popular place to eat. 
I had salad with scampi (good), monkfish (okay) and super chocolate (good). My girlfriend had cesar salad (good), codfish (good) and orange juice with vanilla ice cream (it was just as weird as it sounds). 

The total price including a bottle of white wine was 60 €. In general the quality of the food and wine was good, and the price was not too much. The service was average, but understandable in a packed restaurant. I recommend this place and would eat here again. 

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.