We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and very friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Out of China

Out of China
Muntaner, 100, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)
93 451 55 55
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Out of China is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #906 of 6,672 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Eixample
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Excellent food and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was our first night and we did not start to eat until 9 pm - the staff were very pleasant and attentive - nothing was too much trouble. The food was well cooked with beautiful - my only problem was that the portions were too big for me. We will share next time we visit them

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    64
    25
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Chinese food at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were not going to enter, as the restaurant looked empty, but the back room was filled with locals. Our waitress was lovely, helpful, and her recommendations were worth trying. We had a delicious 3-course dining experience, and mine was gluten-free. Must try the Cantonese facellets verdura. The gluten-free carrot cake is the best I have had. Wish I made it as good! It is hard to find, and it is a walk from the metro, but worth a meal!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

After all the rave about this restaurant on Tripadvisor, we had to give it a try.

First off, the location is beautiful and the staff was very helpful and speaks English. The price is above average and the main courses ranges from 12-16 Euros. We ordered several dishes to share at our table and most of them was unfortunately, tasteless and boring.

The restaurant is trying too hard to be creative, they should stick to traditional, tasteful Chinese food. If you carve for Chinese food, there are other, much better options.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“One of the best Chinese in Bcn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very nice restaurant. Traditional chinese food with a modern "western" presentation.
There is a tasty menu (18€) and a large choice in a la carte menu.
I've been several times and it was always good. Fresh food and home made dessert.
The atmosphere is very peaceful and modern, not a all the corny typical chinese in Spain.
The price corresponds with its quality, so don't expect to pay 10€ like in cheap and bad chinese restaurants.
We paid for 2 people 65€ (3 starters+2 main courses+2 desserts+drinks), so good value for money.
I really recommend it if you like good and fresh Chinese food in a nice and modern atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“amazing as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

lived in barcelona some years ago and this was the first time back, its nice to see that some of the restaurants i use to go to are still open and running as normal.The food is still good,quick service and good atmosphere. Quite reasonable 47 euro for 2 starters main and dessert with a couple of drinks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Out of China also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Out of China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Out of China, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.