We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B, fantastic service, great area of Barca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ana's Guest House B&B

Save Saved
You added Ana's Guest House B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ana's Guest House B&B
Av. Diagonal 345 Principal 1a, 08037 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #10 of 293 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B, fantastic service, great area of Barca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We only stayed at Ana’s for one night, but we felt compelled to review because we had such a positive experience.

We weren’t originally booked to stay here, we had booked at another B&B just near Las Ramblas, who had agreed to put us up for 3 nights in their B&B and 1 night in their apartment. However they mistakenly double booked the apartment, so they spoke to the owners here, who agreed to put us up for one night short notice.

After the mix-up at the other B&B were a bit apprehensive, but were very pleasantly surprised. The owners were very hospitable, and went over and above in contacting the other B&B to chase our bags when they had not shown up several hours after they said they would drive them over!

The B&B was quiet, peaceful, clean and very well appointed. Breakfasts were fresh and plentiful – with fresh pastries delivered from the local bakery each day, which are left out and available for you to snack on at any time. The balcony/terrace of the B&B is quite and private (surrounded by greenery) and a lovely place to sit out on in the evening - we took a bottle of wine and a couple of books out there. All in all brilliant value – far better than what you get for your money right in the centre.

We were really surprised by the Gracia district nearby – it wasn’t where we would have initially chosen to stay, but we wished we had stayed there the whole duration of our trip. It was only a short metro hop to the centre (metro is really easy to use), but it was much less touristy, quieter, and a really cool little neighbourhood to explore with lots of lovely independent, quirky little shops, cafes and restaurants. Even the girl at the local grocery store made a real effort to recommend us some excellent value local wine rather than taking advantage of our gullible tourist status and trying to sell us overpriced plonk! I was gutted we had to leave after one night, and if we go back to Barcelona I will definitely come back and stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    42
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
29
107
41
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

This was hour first time staying in a B&B so we were kind of worried, but I must say not need to worrie. We arrived early and Ana was waiting with breakfast, she brought it to the balcony when my partner wanted to have a smoke.(just like my mom would have done) I fell I was at home with the warm welcome. She gave us a big hug and kiss like we were long lose friends. We really appreciated the time they spended explaining the city and how to get to places. It was very helpful.

The room were clean and breakfast was very authentic. No need to worrie about other people and not bein able to sleep. You not heard a fly in that place. Kind of wird actually, I don't like so much silence in unknow place. We stayed with the balcony. It was not noisy like others review said. It was very romantic and perfect in the afternoon. The location was perfect. The subway it's in the other side of street. It not far from La Sagrada familia, we actually walked there. There's plenty of restaurant in the area too. What I liked better was that it was not in a 100% touristic area. It was close enought and secluded enought to enjoy it.

I have to say the best value for your money.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Ana's B & B was the best place I have ever stayed in Barcelona, in terms of value for the money and comfort. Ana is kind and welcoming, and the location is great. The room I had was quite large by Barcelona standards, and the bed was without a doubt the most comfortable bed I have slept in in Spain. While the room I had was not air conditioned, it did have two fans that kept it comfortable. (It was in the upper 80's F that day.) The shared bathroom was sparkling clean and well equipped. I will most certainly stay here in the future.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are quiet and equipped with ceiling fan and an additional fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Ana is one of a kind. Always happy, friendly and anxious to please her guests.
From the first e-mail to the hugs at the end of our stay it was perfect.

On arrival Ana and her husband helped us with our luggage and then sat down with us over a cup of tea and pastries and explained where, on a map, we were located and marked all the places we wanted to see.

Ana's recommendations on where to eat were excellent choices. In fact we went to La Ritas twice in the short time we stayed in Barcelona. It was a short walk from the B&B.

The double room, no 4, was large and comfortable. We shared the large bathroom with a few other rooms, but there was never a problem with this.
The room, as it was facing the busy street, could be noisy at times, but with the shutters closed and air conditioning on it was bearable.

There is a notice in the bathroom saying usage from 0800, but on our departure day it was not a problem to shower before the advertised time.

The kitchen was available for guest use for storing food in the fridge or making hot drinks or snacks.

Breakfast was ample with good selection of fruit, juice, hams, cheese, rolls, and pastries.

Ana very kindly provided early breakfast for our 0730 start on the day of departure.

The B&B is in a perfect location opposite the metro and walking distance to Sagrada Familia, Ramblas and Plaza Catalunya.
Lots of Tapas and Ana's highly recommended restaurants a few minutes walk away.
Discovered outlet stores eg Mango in Girona St. A bonus for our daughters,

Will definately stay here again, and recommend it as a home away from home.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a quiet room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Just spent 3 days in Barcelona meeting up with friends fand booked Ana's from the reviews from trip advisor. I was so grateful as it was exactly as described and if possible Ana and Natalie (her daughter) were even more welcoming and accomodating than indicated. I was welcomed with an open door, a smiling face and a welcome cup of coffee a number of hours before official check-in. As I was travelling on my own I felt very secure in the flat and walking around in the immediate area. They are well positioned for the must see sights but as it's not on the main tourist area (about 10 min walk away or tube ride) you have a quiet location to return to at the end of a busy day. I stayed in the single bedroom and was very comfortable. It didn't feel constrained due to the high ceiling and double doors to enter the year and I honestly never had to wait for the bathroom which is large and well appointed. I urge you to give them a try if you are looking for lovely location that is well situatated with lots of guidance and help if needed and definately value for your money. Will definately come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Ana's B&B in June 2012. The location is great in the center of Barcelona, right next to the tube station "Verdaguer".
We had a incredible time there. We felt like at home during our stay. The warm welcome and energy of Ana and her family, the delicious breakfast and our comfortable room!

We look forward already to come back very soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Maybe 100 yards from the Verdaguer subway stop in the Eixemple neighborhood (very safe), so it's very easy to get to from the train station. Ana greeted us with tea, coffee and pastries. She, her husband and daughter are all extremely helpful and friendly. Our en suite room was very large and comfortable and the breakfast is more than adequate: fruit, cereals, pastries, yogurt, etc. Street noise is somewhat of an issue in the front rooms of the B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ana's Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ana's Guest House B&B

Address: Av. Diagonal 345 Principal 1a, 08037 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 293 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ana's Guest House Diagonal is a quite, safe and comfortable new place at the modernist neighborhood of Eixample in the center of Barcelona. Our flat is a beautiful and plenty of light with warm atmosphere. The style reflects the modern architecture of the 1900’s, with a cozy terrace and a beautiful view of the gardens to take breakfast and relax. It has six stylish spacious rooms some of them with balconies and private bathroom. Ana & family will personally make sure your stay is relaxing and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ana's Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana`s Guest House Hotel Barcelona
Ana`s Guest House Bed And Breakfast
Ana's Guest House B&B Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ana's Guest House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.