We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overlooking Barcelona” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Torre d'Alta Mar

Torre d'Alta Mar
Passeig Joan de Borbo 88 | Torre de Sant Sebastia, 08023 Barcelona, Spain (Barceloneta)
93-221-0007
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Torre d'Alta Mar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #668 of 6,847 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish, Romanian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Barceloneta
Melbourne
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Overlooking Barcelona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Is in One of the towers for the cable cars to Montjuic, so unique setting. Must get a table in the window, and then watch the sunset and the lights come on. Great food, on the expensive side, but very tasty.
Service excellent, eager to pease but not overwhelming.
Good system getting up the loft to the restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    116
    67
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
138 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“'View over Barcelona”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very nice located restaurant with a proper meny and service. Disadvantage is the elevator, which can be a bottleneck when groups want to enter (and can not be avoided)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“80-100€ excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

wonderful city views... excellent food and service....nice atmosphere... just a great restaurant in a great location...

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Stunning views and classy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The experience starts with the lift up the tower, in our case perhaps with the queue for the lift up the tower as it only takes 6-8 and our party arrived en masse. Stick with it though for the 360 degree views over the city which you can only really appreciate from the top where the watch tower has been converted into stylish fine dining. Service was attentive throughout - staff coped with our large party admirably, albeit that we were on a fixed menu. Highlight was rigatoni stuffed with lobster and prawn, but main course cod was delicious too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very average; big let down; stay away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

For a place that was supposed to be the bee's knees, a big let down . . .

This is a very nice restaurant. It is situated high in a cable car tower with amazing views of the city. The reviews all say how great it is, and we were expecting to be wowed. I didn't realize it until we showed up for our reservation, but the place has two Michelin stars, which only ramped up the excitement. At every step of the dining experience the service was excellent. The food, however, was not. As a foodie who has dined at many fine restaurants across the globe, this place was a major disappointment.

Our appetizers were top-noch. The desert was very good. The mains (all four dishes our table ordered) were completely blase.

For a place that is rated this high and is supposed to be about the best Barcelona has to offer, it was a major let down. Now, this has to be understood in context. In no way was anything about the experience unpleasant and the food was indeed great, it just fails to live up to the hype. The food was all perfectly average to below average for a place of this caliber (which is to say its still damn good). The most disappointing part was that after a spectacular appetizer, the mains were such a let down. Nothing inspired about the design, presentation, or taste. Basically, it was about what I would expect at any $30/plate restaurant in the states. Having gone in with the expectations to be wowed, it was a thorough let-down. Further more, the entire menu seemed very uninspired. Another reviewer said it, but it wasn't a challenge deciding what to eat, the menu was short and the options were presented in an tantalizing fashion. Nothing exciting was on there, the fish selection was very bland, I think it was cod or talapia or something very average.

I believe our total bill was about 600 euros for the four of us including drinks. For that price I want my food to wow me, not just the views.

Given all this, I cannot recommend this restaurant. Given the blandness of everything I would not even go back and try it in a different season. They'd have to hire a new Chef and start all over with the menu before I would even consider it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torre d'Alta Mar also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Torre d'Alta Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torre d'Alta Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.