We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, good but not exceptional food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Torre d'Alta Mar

Torre d'Alta Mar
Passeig Joan de Borbo 88 | Torre de Sant Sebastia, 08023 Barcelona, Spain (La Barceloneta)
93-221-0007
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Torre d'Alta Mar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #714 of 6,097 Restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: La Barceloneta
Boston
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great view, good but not exceptional food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This restaurant is 300 feet up on top of a tower, adjacent to the marina. Fantastic views of the city. Unlike a truly top restaurant, the tables are crowded together and it is clearly tourist oriented. The food was ample, elegantly presented but not exceptional. Make certain that someone else treats you!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    87
    55
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great setting but food and service were slightly disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We booked a table for 2 on the occasion of my birthday. Actually it was my birthday surprise!
This restaurant offers stunning views and a cosy ambiance. Let's face it, we all go there for the views and that's it!

Service was professional even if slightly disappointing as I felt a special attention to customers was missing. I asked to change a dish in the menu since I don't eat pork and had the feeling it was not very welcome... waiter had to double-check with the chef if it was OK.. not the kind of answer I would have expected from a high standing restaurant.
Once desserts just finished waiters started to clean all tables around us, leaving us in a totally not cosy ambiance... then music changed drastically from lounge ambiance to disco-party hit style...
I did not feel like I was treated in a very special way, which Torre d'Alta Mar should offer to each and every customer.

Food was good but not excellent. It can be recommended by Michelin or Lonely Planet or any other guide but this is definitely not the equivalent of a Michelin.
We took the set menu of the house, which is pricey but gives you an overview of what is on offer here! I found some combinations very adventurous and some very disappointing, such as the mousse de praline served with the 2nd dessert.

All in all, I liked the experience, food and service were a bit disappointing though. I may return, maybe not..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, stunning views and great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé took me here for my birthday meal, the whole experience was wonderful, the travel up the tower to the restaurant which is right at the top all glass fronted so you get the most amazing views. Lots of tourists eat here but it's pricey so it's a quiet crowd. Food was brilliant as was the service, very personal. Thoroughly recommend this restaurant as one of those special treat places.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Superb view, food excellent, too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We chose this restaurant for a birthday dinner and were not disappointed! The view is unbeatable and the food (we had the menu) was very tasty, too. Will go again when in BCN!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrköping, Östergötlands Län, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Amazing view and food ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Can recommend this restaurant for it's amazing view! Incredible to sit high up in the air and see all of Barcelona while having a nice dinner and good cava :)
The food was good, but I wouldn't give it a micheline star. Small portions and a little bit strange combinations. But tasty and warm. Good service though!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torre d'Alta Mar also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Torre d'Alta Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torre d'Alta Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;