We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food...but tiny portions!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Pla de la Garsa

Restaurante Pla de la Garsa
Assaonadors, 13, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera)
+34 933 15 24 13
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,428 of 6,427 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $24 - $37
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food...but tiny portions!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

If you want to sample unique and interesting cheeses, pates, tapas, the choices are many and varied: this place might be for you. But if you want a MEAL be warned that while the food is beautifully prepared and tastes wonderful, the menu selection is extremely limited and the portions are incredibly tiny!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    45
    13
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brewer, Maine
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were staying in the area of Sagrada Familia and frankly, were striking out with food. Our friend accessed his AmEx concierge who got us reservations at this amazing little restaurant. Everything was exquisite! Bread was amazing, cold food was cold, hot food was hot! Everything had good flavor with just the right seasoning. Prices were monderate compared with what we had been experiencing. Wine list was ample and VERY affordable. I would highly and without reservation recommend this lovely restaurant!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pristina, Kosovo
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Rich and rustic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great atmosphere, hearty rural and historic catalan dishes - not much for vegetarians - a little pricey. Staff did valiantly and amazingly cheerily all night despite being worked into the ground - far too few of them for the number of diners.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very nice place serving exquisite Catalan food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very cosy place in the heart of El Borne.
We were warmly welcomed by the multilingual staff. Food is grate and the wine menu is made of Spanish/Catalan wines only; I found it charming.

Very good pick in this very touristic area of Barcelona.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Traditional lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Some local friends of mine suggested Pla de la Garsa and it was a great choice! It's an old little tavern located in a old house of the 16th century, a magic place. It has a very wide culinary selection, which goes from Catalan cuisine to Mediterranean Fusion. Don't miss their delicious ham or their hand-made cookies. I loved it!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Pla de la Garsa also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurante Pla de la Garsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Pla de la Garsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.