We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, lovely setting, great wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Tinaja

La Tinaja
Esparteria, 9, 8003 Barcelona, Spain (El Born / La Ribera)
933102250
Improve this listing
Ranked #709 of 6,906 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food, lovely setting, great wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This place was just around the corner from our apartment and we stopped in for dinner twice. The first time we waited approximately 45 minutes for a table and the second time we stopped in as they opened and made a reservation.
Both times it was full and there were people waiting outside from pretty early in the evening. The food is great with lots of possibilities and combinations and there is a large wine selection.
Service is good, they are busy so you'll want to be proactive about interacting with the wait staff.
Would definitely recommend a visit, we'd love to return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    46
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TORONTO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent rustic food....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Enjoyed my last evening in Barcelona at this authentic rustic Bodega.. Food was the best we had, The tapas were delicious and the ham was exceptional. Staff warm and friendly, could not be more pleasant and helpful. Would recommend it to anyone looking for not only a meal but an experience.Thank you Tinaja for a most enjoyable evening with the love of my life...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Simply the best tapas ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Amazing food, amazing atmosphere, helpful staff, accommodating, cosy, utterly stunning.
Food was a mixed platter of tapas for ten, with lots of wine and beers mixed in. More than we could ever eat, less than £30 a head for a stunning lunch.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“yummy wine and tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Went to this small wine and tapas place in El Born after having to make a reservation the evening before as it was packed! the wine was excellent, the tapas was also nice. wait staff were knowledgeable but not super friendly. would go back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent find, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had the pleasure of eating twice in 2 days at this tucked-away little treasure in old Barcelona. The restaurant is indeeed cozy, and the ham is outstanding, though a bit pricey. Don't expect the waiters to treat you with any warmth, however they are professional. The food is excellent, you can't go wrong ordering the iberia ham (either the standard ham or the reserva), and the catalan cheeses are wonderful. The rioja by the glass was meaty and stood up to the cheeses well. if i return to Barcelona I will definitely seek this place again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tinaja also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Tinaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tinaja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.