We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at a good price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Oficina

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Oficina
Passeig de Joan de Borbo 30, Barcelona, Spain (Barceloneta)
93 221 40 05
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,219 of 6,679 Restaurants in Barcelona
Neighborhood: Barceloneta
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Barceloneta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

the menu del dia is very good value (starter, main, sweet and a drink). Food is well cooked, tasty and the service is ok. Beware with ordering drinks though. You will get caned on the beer prices. Best to stick with the menu dal dia.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    1
    1
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely awful service, food, and prices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I know the feeling of getting to the end of the day and having your judgement clouded by hunger but don't stop here for a quick fix. We had to ask the waiter to come over and take our order. We happened to be the only people there and still our food took more than 30 minutes. The paella was awful and burnt and the lasagna look like cheese microwaved on a plate and was literally topped with ketchup. Yes, ketchup on lasagna! Yuck! What a waste of time and hard earned money.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worst meal of my life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Finally found it. Worst restaurant in the world. Just awful.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AVOID THIS PLACE UNLESS YOU WANT TO WASTE YOUR MONEY.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

This has to be one of the worst 'restaurants' along this street. We made the awful mistake of sitting down to eat here. The pizza was cardboard covered with ketchup, the canneloni was filled with liquid mud passed off as meat and huge globs of ketchup at each end of the plate. The hamburger was dry, small and tasteless a Big Mac rescued from a rubbish bin would have been more appetising. Don't order the drinks unless you want to pay 10 euros for a fanta. Part way through this mess being placed on the table, the owner/manager proceeded to have a full scale 20+min outburst of rage at one of his staff in full public view and could be heard all the way down the street. AVOID THIS PLACE UNLESS YOU WANT TO WASTE YOUR MONEY. If I could award minus stars I would.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We've all been there...at the tourist trap. This time we knew it in advance as it takes no genius to figure it out from the exterior and sun-bleached pictures of available dishes. Still, we were starving and thought "At least we can get something here and move on". Well, I'm naïve...

There's no point going into details as others have already done this, I'll just summarize:
* If you opt for a "large" beer/drink (as opposed to a "small") you really get a LARGE beer. 1 liter to be exact which will set you back 10€. Same for soft drinks. Of course one can always argue that you get what you order...but still, you know what I mean.
* The food...what can I say? Even for a tourist trap this was by far my worst experience for two weeks in Spain.
* 3 tapas, 2 spaghetti and 4 drinks set us back 70€ which I only can describe a complete rip-off.

Luckily we found other places both before and after this, that was on the exact opposite side of the scale.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Oficina also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Oficina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Oficina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.