We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Can Ramonet

Can Ramonet
Calle Maquinista 17, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (La Barceloneta)
93-319-3064
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Can Ramonet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,410 of 6,427 Restaurants in Barcelona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: La Barceloneta
Charlottesville, VA 22901
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“OK experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ate here because the wait at 10pm was too long for the very casual and local place nearby. Clearly the line to get in at the other place was an indicator of how good it was. Slow service in the area for the full menu. We should have sat in the front where tapas were served but we wanted fresh fish. Ordered a second bottle of wine which they forgot about. Paella was so-so. The fresh tuna was very good. We'd kind of lost enthusiasm for our food once it arrived. Took awhile to get the check as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    151
    88
    46
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olen
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“oldest restaurant, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It is a great restaurant. Food is superb, and there is always a bit of a surprise. The paella is great, also the Orado en Sal, and many more fishes. The kitchen is open from 1200am-1200pm, no need to wait till 8 or 9 like the traditional spanish dining hours. Large selection of great wines.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“David & Kerry Broome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We found this restaurant near our accommodation in Barceloneta. It is located couple streets away from tourist strip near port in a small shopping plaza. We had passed by it a couple of times & were impressed with presentation. Walked in on a Sunday night & were pleasantly surprised. The food is very good, English speaking staff, excellent service & value for money. We dined in outdoor area but it also has an eccentric indoor bar & restaurant. Toilets are very clean. We are foodies & recommend this to anyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice dinner close to the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Sit inside and enjoy the fresh seafood. We came upon this place by accident, after passing all the bigger places with the touts trying to draw us in. We sat around a big wine barrel and ordered lots of seafood--little clams in green sauce, mussels in a marinara sauce, shrimp sizzling in garlic. Everything was delicious. Service was friendly and quick.

The decor inside is like quaint places in New England--lots of fisherman lamps, hooks, grappling things, ropes, tackle--with the Mediterranean touch of wine barrels that the waiters draw from with taps.

The outside seating area is totally lacking in charm and might not have as attentive service, so I would probably skip it if sitting outdoors were the only option.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

A wonderful taverna with fantastic atmosphere and terrific food. Quite a popular place for a Sunday evening in Barceloneta. We enjoyed fantastic seafood paella which is a house speciality, vegetable paella, steak and veal. There were six of us and we all had an excellent meal. Finished off with Creme brûlée and puff pastry with strawberries and cream. It was excellent value for money. If there was a fault it would have been the disinterested waiters.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can Ramonet also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Can Ramonet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Can Ramonet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.