We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There has to be somewhere better...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Can Ramonet

Can Ramonet
Calle Maquinista 17, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (La Barceloneta)
93-319-3064
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Can Ramonet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,410 of 6,427 Restaurants in Barcelona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: La Barceloneta
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“There has to be somewhere better...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Ate at Can Ramonet after reading a few reviews about Paella in Barcelona. The place we wanted to go was booked till 10pm, so we tried this restaurant.

Boyfriend had the grilled fresh fish, which was delicious, but the sides were kinda pathetic. A tiny triangle of tortilla de patata, a handful of sweet potato chips and a single asparagus. Didn't feel very balanced as a meal.

I had the paella of the day which featured squid, shrimp and mussels. The seafood must have been precooked, as it was overcooked, dry and tasteless (or in some cases downright gross tasting). The squid was cubed and looked like ham, and lacked the texture or flavor of fresh calamari. No tenticles either. It was the main portion of meat in the dish. I had 2 shrimp and 3 small mussels otherwise. No saffron, very salty. Incredibly unimpressed. So much so that I'm terrified to try paella anywhere else in Barcelona, if this one is supposed to be so great.

Wish we would have liked it more. We have had meals at other places in town (no paella) that have blown this out of the water.

I don't recommend this place for paella. Maybe grilled fish? They seemed to do that well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    151
    88
    46
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great paellia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

after a long walk through las ramblas and barceloneta, quite hungry we arrived at can ramonet. a spanish friend advised us to go there and we thank him for dong so! great paelia!!!away from all tourist restaurants. we went there twice, at the first day we arrived in town and on the last. wanted to close our trip with a good restaurant. service not very friendly

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I certainly can't agree with the negative reviews--our experience was outstanding. Yes, there are cheaper places to eat in Barcelona, but my husband and I are 4-star diners and we expect to pay a little for good food. We were actually roaming around, looking for another restaurant recommended on Frommer's when we decided to try this place. It's located off Barceloneta in a more residential area, away from the crazy tourist traffic. The wine list was extensive and very affordable--we had a Gran Reserva cava that knocked our socks off. The starters were delicious, and I had Hake prepared "Basque Style." It was the best fish I've had in years. I don't understand the tourist fascination with Paella--when there are so many wonderful local dishes, people need to get a little adventurous and try some of the other foods. Everything we had was fresh and prepared with great care. Loved it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Paella!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Probably the best Paella we had in Barcelona. It's a non Touristic restaurant with great sea food , soups and wine. It's a little expensive but it worth it. Don't miss the paella !!!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“go for the excellent tapas in the bar section”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had tapas in the front tapas bar section of Can Ramonet and it was superb. Probably the best we had in Barcelona. Kids loved it too, although was a little precarious having them sat up on the high stools around barrels that serve as tables in that section.

Can't comment on the restaurant section as we didn't eat there, but it didn't look particular tempting.

In any case, would highly recommend tapas at Can Ramonet. Perhaps give the main restaurant a miss though.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can Ramonet also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Can Ramonet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Can Ramonet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.