We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Paella” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Can Majo

Can Majo
Almirall Aixada 23, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
93-221-5455
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #862 of 6,428 Restaurants in Barcelona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Danvers, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Paella”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Really good spot that has the best paella in Barcelona. Near the water and reasonably priced adds to the reasons you should check this place out if you are going to be in Barcelona!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    301
    86
    44
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“Do not limit yourself to just the paellas, tho these are very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Try everything you can, it's all terrifically fresh and delicious: fideua in squid ink, angulas (baby eels), percebes (translated as goose barnacles, they're really like the necks of steamer clams), fried whitebait, crab, whole fish, merluza (cod). Everything is amazing, service is fine. And if you go when weather permits, sit outside.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointment!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

I went to Can Majo on the recommendation of a friend who has lived in BCN for many years. I was worried when she mentioned she had heard one or two negative reviews lately but that she had never had a bad meal there. We wnt there tonight loooking forward to the great paella everybody seems to talk about. Place is nothing to look at and the waiter was rude (the other two were auite nice - luck of the draw I guess. No matter, we would put up with it for a good paella. Trouble is....a great paella never came. What came was a salty, very average at best paella. Waiter did not come ask us anything after he served it. What a complete disappointment. Adding insult to injury, the place is not cheap and they add a "table and linen" fee of 2 euros per person, maybe this is standard in BCN. The seach for a good paella continues.....sigh.....

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice place - seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

A nice restaurant with excellent seafood. The staff is polite, friendly and attentive. The restaurant is still relaxed enough that you can enjoy bringing your children. Our son almost got into a trance over the grilled lobster, it was that good!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went here recently and had a fantastic lunch. We shared a seafood paella and it was perfectly cooked. The afternoon we were there the place was full of locals and everyone was ordering the paella, so they obviously are known for this dish. The service was good and the atmosphere was perfect. I only wish we had time to go back for dinner!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can Majo also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Can Majo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Can Majo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.