We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Paella, wonderful atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Can Majo

Can Majo
Almirall Aixada 23, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
93-221-5455
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #858 of 6,427 Restaurants in Barcelona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Paella, wonderful atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We went to Can Majo based on the recommendation of my son's middle school Spanish teacher. While we found the food in general, and the paella in particular, to be good, not great, the atmosphere was worth the trip. Wait staff was friendly yet formal. The view of the beach and water was lovely. And the festive mood of all of the patrons made for a very enjoyable experience. I am sure there are places with better paella, but we were not disappointed that we went here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    302
    86
    44
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Went here based on a recommendation but they were full. That happens and of course it's fine, but the off hand and frankly rude way we turned away was uncalled for. Went to a restaurant just up the road and had a wonderful meal with great service, but still couldn't understand why they were so unpleasant to us jut for trying to spend money with them...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“If your looking for paella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice little restaurant overlooking the beach, attentive staff, and great food! I was never impressed with paella until i tried it in can majo.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
london
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing paella”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Went here following assurances from Lonely Planet that Can Majo serves one of the best paellas in Barcelona.We were very excited to secure a dinner reservation on the outdoor terrace and following a long walk, we arrived with very healthy appetites.

My husband ordered the Galician Octopus for a starter and immediately declared it to be sub-standard in comparison to the great pulpo served at the Boqueria. When our seafood paella arrived, one of the first things we noticed was how small the portion for two people was. We have eaten a lot of paella and this was quite a tight portion both in terms of rice and seafood. It tasted okay, but I'm not sure what all the fuss is about here on TA and on LP. It really isn't anything special.

We stayed for dessert (cream catalana of course) but was underwhelmed (once again, we found much better cream catalana at the Boqueria).

The service was great, with the staff being very attentive; however due to the overall disappointment with our paella, the walk home seemed even longer than the journey there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swieqi, Malta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and impeccable service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We traveled to Barcelona with my parents and my partner and after seeing a couple of reviews, decided to eat at Can Majo. We did not book a table and realized that we were lucky to find one when we arrived, perhaps due to the fact that majority of people go out to eat quite late and we were the first customers (arrived to the restaurant at around 20:00). They have a lovely terrace and we were welcomed by the staff and sat down outside enjoying the sea views and people strolling through the promenade. I would like to point out that all tables were perfectly served and tables were arranged very neatly. The manager who saw us parking recommended to park our car in front of the restaurant and leave the keys with him as we parked in a reserved space.

Our waiter was very fast, polite and smiling. We got menus in different languages as my parents are Russian speaking and my partner speaks English. We were also recommended some specialties of the day and asked about our preferences. We ordered seafood platter, two paellas and veal. Seafood platter composed of cold starters and fish mains. It was very fresh and tasty, we really loved the quality of the seafood. Paella was superb, it had the perfect consistency and the freshest ingredients. We loved everything and were very satisfied with our choice. It was one of the best dining experiences in Barcelona. Highly recommended!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can Majo also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Can Majo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Can Majo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.