We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, classic clientele but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ca l'isidre

Ca l'isidre
Carrer De les Flors 12 | Ciutat Vella, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
93 441 11 39
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Ca l'isidre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #353 of 6,427 Restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Ca l���Isidre is the best formal Catalan restaurant in Barcelona. Royalty, celebrities and gourmets have been returning to this small family-owned, art-filled treasure since it opened just off El Paral.lel avenue and inside the Raval quarter in the 70s. Because it relies on what catches chef-owner Isidre Girones��� eye at the nearby La Boqueria market that morning, the menu changes day by day. Go for the classics every time: the sausages, grilled prawns, fried codfish, and lamb brains in black butter, for example, are out of this world. A special mention goes to Ca l���Isidre���s creative desserts. A must-visit restaurant.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, classic clientele but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Every thing is perfect. They have excellent waiters to match their good food. The drawbacks are the location (the street is not as classy as their customers) and their high pricing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    37
    13
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“If I could, I would give it 3.5”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is tough. I really like the owner, the art, the food, but the prices of the dishes are way...way too expensive for what you get. The mushrooms ordered had grit of sand still in them, the 70 euro Angullos...were tasteless. The truffle risotto was ok. All in all, we really enjoyed spending time with the owner and experiencing the place. Would I go back? Sure. It's a legend, but if I had to choose between Rais de Galicia and Ca I'isidre...I would go to Rais. They cost about the same, but you leave Rais feeling like you got what you paid for and not so much at Ca l'isidre. Sorry to say.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“They make the effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We arrived for lunch at 1.30 to an empty restaurant. We were on our coffee before it started to fill up. They certainly eat late in Barcelona. A starter of mushrooms in a foie gras cream was good, but not special. The grilled langoustine main course were cooked simply and were delicious. The bread was exceptionally good - particularly the olive bread. The thing that really stood out was the staff. The service was warm, attentive and genuine. The waiter made an effort to explain the menu in English, talk us through the wine choices, and to make sure that my gluten free wife was properly looked after. He even said that if I didn't like his wine recommendation he would happily change it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“SUBERB, TOPS, WHAT MORE CAN I SAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

For good atmosphere, good service, excellent food one should not miss this restaurant. It's a very established place with a clientele to go with. One of the best waiters ever encountered. Very knowledable, and can explain everything in very good English and very clearly. He can give good information about Spanish wines. The starters and main courses, we tried two different types of fish were both excellent. Not cheap but not expensive either.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“place you will never forget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This August our family spent some time in Barcelona. Every day we went to another place trying to get as much food experience as possible.
Our son's professor recommended this place, and it was our best dinner ever.
Food, service, atmosphere - everything works together so nice, vine selection will satisfy every one.
We really enjoyed with fresh seefood, dessert, and glass of wiskey as a final touch.
If you have a chance to visit this place, don't miss it, or you'll regret for rest of your live.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ca l'isidre also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Ca l'isidre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca l'isidre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.