We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome paella” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Botafumeiro

Botafumeiro
Carrer Gran de Gracia, 81 08012 Barcelona, Spain, 08012 Barcelona, Spain
+34 932 18 42 30
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Botafumeiro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #314 of 5,908 restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $81 - $135
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Among the three hundred diners that fill this 30-year-old restaurant every day, you may spot the King of Spain, movie stars, and politicians. Botafumeiro has to be a well-oiled machine to keep all and sundry happy and coming back for more, and it does. The decor is so trad, with wood railings and banisters, white table linens, and nautically-themed art and objets. The menu focusses on the sea, try fruits de mer for two to start, followed by anglerfish fisherman's stew with white beams or one of the barbecued fish, then a dessert of Belgian chocolate volcano with chocolate sherbet. Wine list is an ambassador for Spanish wines.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome paella”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I love going to Botafumeiro when I have guests visiting from abroad. The restaurant boasts one of the freshest selections of seafood in the city. It is a great place to try paella for the first time, however it will set the bar quite high. The restaurant has a very pleasant atmosphere and the old-school style waiting means you'll have one of the 40+ waiters catering to your every need.

A suggestion: If you get an appetizer one paella serving is enough for two, two servings for three.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    548
    293
    123
    51
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not very impressive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The food was very touristy there wasn't all that much that was remarkable beyond the portions. The Paella had no crunchy Socarrat and the overall quality of service was mediocre. Its 'OK' if you have no other options but there was nothing remarkable here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nothing spectacular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I had dinner here years ago and I remember it was good and elegant. Now, I did not have the same experience in terms of the food. I had the seafood caneloni and they were just ok, not very tasty. My husband had a black rice with squid's ink and it was good but not great. My
father in law had cod and it was very good. It is expensive and I don't know if its worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Excellent paella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Excellent cuisine and theater of food. High energy but cozy ambiance. We walked in past a glass display case of crabs and fishes from who knows where. Then past a bar, kitchen, wine cooler, and to our table. Not sure if that was "the back"referred to negatively by other reviewers, but we were in what I would call a primo spot. Relatively quiet, and a nice view of the place. Our waiter spoke excellent english, had travelled the world working for a cruise line, and did a wonderful job guiding us through the extensive menu and wine list. We had an outstanding bottle of Spanish sauvignon blanc which lasted us the entire meal. For starters we split the "capricious"salad, full of white asparagus and artichokes, with a scrumptious dressing. It was huge, good we split it. They serve olives and seasoned potato chips as a garnish when we arrived, also yummy. Wife had the seafood paella, I had the lobster paella. I thought the paella was wonderful, risotto like rice, full of brothy flavor, seafood mixed through out. My wife thought hers was good, but a bit too fishy in aftertaste. Servings are large, we could have split the paella. Total for the two of us was 146 Euro ($195), not bad for the wonderful overall experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food and a nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Went there with my boyfriend. Got a cosy table for two. Great seats. Very good food and a nice waiter. Recommend this place to everyone who likes a good seafood meal. Recommend to reserve a table up front. Could get difficult to get a table on a saturday by random.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Botafumeiro also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona

Been to Botafumeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botafumeiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.