We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Restaurant with Exceptional Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 7 Portes

7 Portes
Passeig Isabel II 14 | Pla del Palau, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Barceloneta)
+34 933193033
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
7 Portes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #994 of 6,678 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $39 - $50
Cuisines: International, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Barceloneta
Description: Opening its doors in 1836 to begin offering over 150 years of excellence, Restaurant de les 7 Portes is truly the most classic of Barcelona's eating places. Here, you can enjoy the finest Catalan cooking in an intimate setting or in one of the spacious banquet halls, accompanied by Spain's best wines and "cavas" (sparkling wines) from the well-stocked cellar. The restaurant is housed in the Pòrtics d'en Xifré, a building declared a national monument and the first place in Barcelona where running water was installed. In 1942, it became the property of Paco Parellada, founder of one of the foremost dynasties of restaurateurs in all of Catalonia.
Santa Fe
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“A Lovely Restaurant with Exceptional Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

So many of the staff in tourist locations in Barcelona are snobbish or incompetent. It was a pleasure to have well-trained waiters and other staff. The sea food and fish here are very well prepared. Unfortunatley, I tried the veal, which was terrible. Stay away from meat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    915
    983
    412
    218
    146
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Bermuda
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The atmosphere is Old World Charm. The Maitre D/ Manager was not very friendly but the waitress was very nice. The food was very good but not great. I believe it is living on it's name but is still trying to be a top tourist attraction restaurant in a city that has many many good restaurant to choose from that they might need to improve there game.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Expensive, But One of the Best Meals Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I found this place listed on Trip Adviser and decided to try it and were not disappointed. We arrived around 8:00pm, which was just in time, as it filled up quickly. We ordered the Goat cheese salad, which consisted of a huge chunk of goat cheese sitting on a lovely bed of greens and drizzled with a beautiful vinaigrette . The large plate of sea snails were delicious and plentiful. For main we had the grilled meat with Padron peppers and roasted lamb. The meat was grilled to perfection and the lamb was so tender, it was melt in your mouth. We could not finish all the peppers that accompanied the meat. The service was excellent as well as the atmosphere. All in all, a great meal and one that we will remember.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Paella, Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This place has been around for years, they know what they're doing, the paella us excellent and the service is great too. We arrived at for lunch just before 1pm when the doors opened and there was already a queue to get in. Get there early to avoid disappointment. I would recommend ordering the seafood paella rather than the meat+ seafood one.,..you get far more bang for your buck!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The only disappointment in our travel to Barcelona area...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My friend and me spent a wonderful week in Barcelona area (at the seaside in Sitges). On the last day we've decided to have a lunch in one of the most known restaurants in Barcelona - 7 Portes. The queue wasn't so long that day, so in 20 min we were at our table hoping to enjoy good seafood. Unfortunately, niether seafood was good, nor the service. The only nice thing was wine... Actually, this place reminds me McDonalds pretending to be a restaurant: overcooked paella, too much cheap souce in salads, waiters-robots, etc, etc... When one of them asked, if we liked paella, we said simply "no". Manager-robot showed up, said that everybody likes their paella and promissed us 50% discount of the bill. Nevertheless, waiter wasn't aware of that discount when the bill came. We decided not to loose our time there anymore and left.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 7 Portes also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to 7 Portes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 7 Portes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.