We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, great "desayuno", great location and clean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gastehaus Gran Via

Save Saved
You added Gastehaus Gran Via to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gastehaus Gran Via
Gran Via Corts Catalanas 429 4th Floor/1th Door, 08015 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #221 of 292 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
“Friendly service, great "desayuno", great location and clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

-Staff was great, always very helpfull and friendly! Always in a good mood and attentive.

-Breakfast was really great! very complete and had various good quality products! Great value!! you won't find a breakfast this good and this cheap anywhere else in Barcelona!

-The rooms were cleaned daily and were very comfortable, the bathroom was cold in the morning though, and the shower was a bit small. Hot water comes from a small boiler, so it might get cold if you take long showers, still that was not a problem for us! the rooms are very close to each other and sound proofing is poor, so you can hear almost everything in the hallway, so if your planning a nightout, sleeping during the day might not be that easy.

-Location is great, it's in the Gran Via, it's very close to the metro station (rocafort) and various buses (including Aerobus, which takes you to the airport) . Very close to the Plaza de Espanya and Montjuic.

-Once we got there, we weren't sure where it was, and it looked like it had no sign, but it is there, it's the bottom one (on door #429) and it has the NETRooms logo. It's on the last floor, so take the elevator instead of the stairs!! ;) you will know when you're there if you see two big aquariums!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    5
    6
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
20
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

Do not take this place on face value! We booked a room that was supposed to be 130 euros and was on special for 60 euros. We turned up to find our room was in a student hostel type place two strrets over from the pace these photos are taken. It looked nothing like the pictures, was pokey and noisy, dark and more than a little grotty. None of the facilities listed on the site were available, and judging by previous stays in barcelona- definitely not 130 euros worth!! Just be aware you may not get what you think you are paying for.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

Our group of 4 people booked 2 rooms in this apartment hotel through a famous website. During the booking process, we mentioned we would arrive around 1:30 AM (due to flight). We got no acknowledgment of any kind for this request.
Although the flight had a 1 hour delay, we managed to be at the location at 1:35 AM. A staff person went out of the nearby bar blaming us for being very late (I think he thought we were to come at 1 AM) and requiring us to pay a 50 euro penalty for late checkin. We said we were surprised by this amount and that it was not mentioned on the website. We wanted to show the confirmation printed on paper but the staff person did not accept to have a look. He even mocked us ("you buy new glasses!"). He refused to discuss and obliged us to cancel the booking. He gave us the money back (prepaid booking) and was glad to let us find another hotel at 2 AM in a city we did not know. Charming!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

Stayed at the Gastehaus over a weekend. We arrived at the main location early, but they still checked us in, which was nice. The room we were assigned, however, was in an apartment a block off. Room was small but clean and warm (despite the cold weather we had).

Bathrooms are shared and unfortunately our room was next to one of them. We thought that was convenient until we noticed how the pipes were echoing into out room. Every little thing that someone did in the bathroom echoed in to our room, very loudly. In general the place got a young crowd and the night between saturday and sunday people were coming in late at night and using the bathroom. We kept being woken up the whole night by people using the bathroom at midnight, 3 am, 4 am and so on... We hardly got any sleep at all that night. The other nights were a bit calmer but we still lost a lot of sleep due to this.

Location was great though, close to the metro, in a calm area. We never had to worry about walking around there, even at night.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

my boyfriend & i booked gastehaus gran via for one night in early october. as i had read reviews on here about being charged for late check-in, i made sure we arrived before check in closed at 23:00. we rushed from the airport only to find a little sign on the door saying to call a number & then a person would come down to get us. really creepy already, but we called the number several times & no-one answered. we eventually snuck into the building the hotel is in, only to find no-one answering the doorbell. eventually a man who lived nextdoor tried to help us, & took me around to several bars, looking for the owner. still couldn't find him. this all took forever & seriously, finding a room at 2 am in barcelona on a saturday is not really that fun or easy.

please please don't stay here (or try to.) not having a place to stay is a very stressful way to start a vacation.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

A short review. The photos on the internet show you lovely rooms in a lovely block. We were taken to a shabbier flat with tiny rooms and no air conditioning. The rooms were clean and quiet but the point we tried to make to the owners was that they couldn't advertise one thing and you booked believing that's what you were booking when in fact you were booking something much less. Am sure it was good value but just check what sort of room you are going to get before you commit. Also, the front door had no handle and only opened/shut with a key - if there'd been a fire, escape would have been very hard.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

This guesthouse is in an excellent location within walking distance of magic fountains(5mins) and metro(2mins). The room was very clean. The area around the guesthouse was nice with a few cheap restaurants beside it. Staff were friendly. Although theres a 3 lane carriageway outside which could be noisy at night. Good for a cheap and cheerful holiday.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gastehaus Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Gran Via

Address: Gran Via Corts Catalanas 429 4th Floor/1th Door, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 292 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Gastehaus Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gastehaus Gran Via Hotel Barcelona
Gastehaus Gran Via Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gastehaus Gran Via, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.