We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location had a nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Onix Liceo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Onix Liceo to your Saves list
Onix Liceo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nou de la Rambla 36, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #249 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location had a nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at onix liceo..i read a lot of other reviews about the air conditioner so i was really worried we got our room the air conditioner wasnt that good so we asked for a change and they were helpful and changed our room..we had 2 other couples with us their rooms were fine too..the main disadvantage is that the walls are supee thin u feel u r living with people in the next room..another thing most rooms have twin beds that they stick together ror couples that was really annoying...
Other than that the location was excellent minutes walking to the port and placa catalunya..staff were friendly specially i guy called Adrian was really helpful..free apples coffee and water..rooms were clean.. I had good time overall my stay i would recommend this hotel :)

Room Tip: Choose a back or high floor room mine was in the middle no outside view but a bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsonix, Operations Manager at Onix Liceo, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We really appreciate your opinion about the hotel, we are open to all the comments because they help us improve. We hope to have you back with us soon Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    165
    61
    28
    15
See reviews for
42
227
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I took my Mum for 3 day city break to Barcelona for her 60th... The Onix Liceo is in a great location, just off La Rambla, a stones throw away from the market, 5 minutes walk to port vell, 2 minute walk to all the restaurants and nightlife in the Gaudi designed square and 10 minutes walk to the Placa de Cataluna. Having been pre-warned about pick pockets and tramps in Barcelona, I was apprehensive with it being just me and Mum however we both felt completely safe at all times and as everything was in such close proximity it was perfect. The hotel is clean, modern, and no fuss. Check in was quick (be prepared to pay approx £7 tourist tax upon check in), the room was clean and had most amenities. The only criticism would be that there needs to be a room safe. They do offer a safe behind reception for 5 Euro per day but things would feel safer in your room, however we worked around it. Staff were helpful and if you speak to reception about trips they can often gove you discount by purchasing with them. Overal the hotel is great value for money. Tips: Do the open top bus tour... we did the Red and Blue route in one day and got off at the Segrada Familia and Monjuic. Go to the Segrada Familia for when it opens otherwise you'll queue for ages. If you want to visit more places though you will need two days. Also if you want to go to the beach get the number 59 bus from la rambla it only costs 2 Euros per person each way and drops you off right at the beach. Make sure you traet yourself to Churros and Chocolate during your stay and the tapas restaurant in the left hand bottom corner of the square is lovely... plus they serve ice cold Damm Lemon beer.

Room Tip: We were in room 303 and it was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsonix, Operations Manager at Onix Liceo, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We really appreciate your comments, because they help us to continue improving in order to be able to give every day a better quality service. We hope to have you back with us soon"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

If you expect all the usual hotel boxes to be ticked with cold efficiency, you might be a little disappointed (no safe or tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms).

If you want a hotel that oozes character, peace, relaxation and comfort, you will adore it. The common areas are gorgeous, the staff were extremely helpful and gave you the space to feel like you were in your own private place. There is free water, iced tea, and hot drink making facilities in the main seating area with space and freedom to feel like you can properly relax.

Contrary to other reviews, the air conditioning was perfect and we had no issues at all. The location is pretty much perfect. Just off Ramblas and everything you would need is within walking distance,

Overall, we will definitely going back, and I can't wait....

Room Tip: Our double room had twin beds pushed together.. I don't know whether they all are, so if this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsonix, Operations Manager at Onix Liceo, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback about the hotel, they help us to continue improving in order to be able to give every day a better quality service. We hope to have you back with us soon"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed on my own at the hotel for five nights towards the end of July for work reasons. I was in room 204 for one night, but it was so hot - and the staff didn't seem to be able to fix the completely ineffective air conditioning - that they moved me to 208 the next night. [I was also offered room 201, but 201 doesn't even have a window!!!] It was very slightly cooler in 208, but not much better, but because the hotel was full I had to put up with it for the remainder of my stay. It was really uncomfortable - particularly at night, and I had to have regular cold showers because of the heat in the room.

Barcelona in July is obviously very hot (it was around the low 30s), so I'm amazed that a hotel that charges well over 100 euros a night for a single does not provide effective air conditioning. The first night I asked the hotel staff if they could provide me with a fan. They said they didn't keep fans in the hotel because this hadn't been a problem before. But - after seeing other reviews complaining about how hot the rooms are - I see that this is untrue. i asked if I could buy a fan and be reimbursed by the hotel, but I was told that the receptionist couldn't get hold of the manager, and so wouldn't be able to guarantee that I would be reimbursed. When I checked out, I wasn't offered any kind of discount or compensation.

The positives are what other reviewers have already said: the location is good (and I was fine with the street); the hotel is in quite a nice, gently quirky under-stated style; water, coffee, iced tea and apples are provided free of charge; the pool area (although v small) looked nice [although I didn't use it.]

The negatives [apart from ineffective air conditioning] are: the breakfast is limited; all three rooms I saw were small and had twin (instead of double) beds; and as other reviewers have repeatedly said there is no safe in the room, which is very annoying and surprising in a hotel charging this rate.

I wouldn't come back to this hotel. Good air conditioning - or at least a fan - is essential for a good night's sleep when it's 30 degrees+.

Room Tip: Tricky one - all three rooms I saw (204, 208 and 201) were small: the first two had poor air con, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsonix, Operations Manager at Onix Liceo, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Unfortunately we have not been able to accomplish your expectations, nevertheless we will bear on mind some of your suggestions towards the main goal of upgrading and offering a better attenttion to our guests. We are grateful about your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

There is nothing that I did not like during my stay at this hotel. Staff was friendly and spoke good English, the room was spacious and extremely clean. All in all, great value.

I liked that we had free water,even before we checked in and after we checked out. The location is great, did not feel unsafe.

I would love to return there at some point.

Room Tip: The room which is just on the top of the lounge ( where the fridge with water and apples is) is real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsonix, Operations Manager at Onix Liceo, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We really appreciate your comments, because they help us to continue improving in order to be able to give every day a better quality service. We hope to have you back with us soon"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Nice hotel, clean and good looking design. Great location, 20 minutes of walk to the beach and 10 minutes to Plaza Catalun.
Pool area (could have been more furnitures out there). If you are looking for a cool sleep during summer I recommend another hotel as the capacity of the AC seems to be under dimensioned ( when we where in Barcelona it was around low 30's Celcius)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsonix, Operations Manager at Onix Liceo, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, have no doubt that we will take care of those details you mention and surely will improve, once again thanks and hope to have you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Onix Liceo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onix Liceo

Address: Nou de la Rambla 36, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#144 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Onix Liceo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotels Onix, right in the heart of Barcelona. Your little hotel in the City. Modern and charming, the ideal choice for your trips to Barcelona, leisure and business. Feel the ambiance of the Mediterranean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Onix Liceo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onix Liceo Barcelona, Catalonia
Onix Liceo Hotel Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onix Liceo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.