We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central location but not good!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of MH Apartments Guell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added MH Apartments Guell to your Saves list
MH Apartments Guell
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Carrer Nou de la Rambla, 20, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #456 of 708 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“central location but not good!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

having stayed many times in apartments in barcelona and also using mh apartments opera ramblas, i assumed that they would be of equal standard - Wrong! poor facilities - the oven was not connected, there was no wifi, the balcony was a joke overlooking the smoking area of a cafe, tv only had one station working, fortunately it was football or there would have been trouble as the dvd player did not work either! there was no dishwasher as stated and two out of four people came home with a contact born virus ie one with cold sores and myself with conjuctivitus! i dont believe the bedlinens or towels had been laundered and so that is where we contacted these viral infections!no definately wont be using these apartments again! Ever!

Room Tip: dont bother try opera ramblas
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio_MH, Director Comercial at MH Apartments Guell, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear client, First of all we want to thank you for having booked again in MH Apartments and we are so sorry you dont get the same impression or better from Opera Rambla, we use the same laundry service in both apartments so we are so impressed of what you said and we of course take note about that. And the apartments have the same facilities (except from the dishwasher which there is no in Guell apartments) so we do not understand the problems that you had, we have a maintenance service and a person in charge of checking all the apartments before the clients checking supplies, laundry... As always we say, we have a 24h customer service where you can provide your comments and complaints and we can change everything you need. Probably the TV was not well connected and the oven it is working properly. We apologize again for that review and if you are back again you can try all over 10 buildings that we have over Barcelona. Best regards, MH Apartments Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
29
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

These apartments were good value for money. We were there for two night break to watch a match and the location was fantastic! Arrangements for arrival were great. The rooms were spacious and very clean if a bit dated. Can't really fault them overall. I'd definitely book them again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Location is good near every thing, size is good, wellequiped kitchen. Very bad beds, bad view specially apartments at the back. One elevator which is tiny and always not working. It is a good choice if you need an apartment for a family which is inside the city center.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was here with my family in August and the apartment was hot, no internet. The towels were so thin and used. The apartment was not that clean. I could not wait to get out. Would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights I.e. my wife, daughter and I. Let me first mention the positives - great location, well equipped with all the kitchen equipment and a fair amount of space when compared to a hotel. Essentially, a home away from home in case you so desire. But then, that is it.

The apartment is quite elemetary, a bit run down and needs a nice coat of paint. Does not really make you feel great if you see walls with marks all over giving you a sense of all the previous occupants and a TV that was probably bought in the 80s! The other most important aspect - there shall be NO housekeeping during the stay. Except for the first day when the attendant came to check us in as well as the housekeeper was seen, we did not see anybody for the next 4 days.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Having travelled to Barcelona in the past, I knew the area quite well. MH Apartment Guell is an excellent location for sightseeing throughout Barcelona. Being located on a side road of La Rambla and close to Liceu train station it was an excellent location. As this was a city location, we didn't spend much time in the apartment, only at night time for sleeping. The apartment is quite basic, but that is not really a problem considering you don't go to Barcelona to stay indoors. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything in the hall corridors, but this was something we got used to over our stay and adpated to. One thing we did miss in the apartment was English television for late at night, just to watch something to wind down and WIFI. With regards to returning to MH Apartments Guell, I will certainly keep it on the cards, great location for exploring the city. The check-in procedure was ok too. Within the apartment there maybe was a lack of a few pieces of furniture such as mirrors. The walls could also do with a paint, to make it look a lot more tidier. I would recommend this apartment, and for you to stay here as it is a great location for exploring the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Booked 2 bedroom apartments for 4 nights in May. No hassle checking in, called provided number from the airport and the person was waiting for us right outside the place in 30 min time. Nice, clean, right in the middle of all the action. Will stay there again as I want to come back to Barcelona for sure. Quite reasonable priced as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MH Apartments Guell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MH Apartments Guell

Address: Carrer Nou de la Rambla, 20, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Hotel Style:
Ranked #456 of 708 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MH Apartments Guell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MH Apartments Güell are located in a quiet street within the historic city centre of Barcelona. Central, spacious and well equiped they are perfectly location to discover Barcelona's charms, shopping and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your MH Apartments Guell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mh Apartments Guell Hotel Barcelona
MH Apartments Guell Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MH Apartments Guell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.