We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Pension/Hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Luis

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Luis
C/ Hospital 93 1-1a, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 292 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average Pension/Hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Great location right off Las Ramblas. Decent rooms, but very basic. Walls are paper thin so you can hear others in the hallway when they are up in the morning/before bed. Luis is helpful and very nice. Bathrooms a little dirty.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I visited with a friend Barcelona for a couple of days. For a place to stay we were looking for a low cost accommodation close to some of the key spots (Placa Catalunya, Ramblas, Barrio Gotico) - Pension Luis is just that.

The Hotel is situated 3-4 walking minutes from the Ramblas in a small street. The actual Pension Luis is in one of the upper floors, not so easily found.
The rooms are really, really basic - no frills whatsoever (not really large bed, small storage place for clothes, simple towels and sheets - that's basically it).
It's overall very clean - except the shower curtain that really needs some changing. The price is absolutely in line with what Pension Luis has to offer, so you get what you pay for.

A real highlight, however, is the owner. Luis is a very friendly, relaxed guy who was absolutely great in making us welcome and was helpful all along the way (pre-arrival organisation, check out time, luggage storage etc.). Luis makes the difference between just a very cheap place to stay and a good home base for a fun trip to Barcelona.

So if you are looking for an affordable place to stay to then focus on (and have more money fo) all the great things to do in this amazing city, check out Pension Luis.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zielona Gora, Poland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I have been to Pension Luis in June with a group of friends. Our room wasn`t big but it was clean and we had a private bathroom and even TV. The owner, Luis, is a very nice guy, he alwalys helped us if we needed it. There is also a kitchen for everyone if you want to make your own meal. The place, as others said, is not luxury. However, for this price it`s a great deal. There was almost always silence and when we you are too loud at night Luis may come and ask you politely to be a bit more silent;) When we had been choosing accomodation we had read the reviews also on this site. At first we didn`t want to go to Luis but finally we booked a room. I don`t regret but remember that everyone has different experience and so on. So don`t pay attention to every opinion too much as we did at first. Barcelona is a great city and if you want to see everything you probably won`t spend much time at your hostel.
To sum up, if you: want to live in the city centre, are quite young, travel with a group of friends, don`t need 5star accomodation, don`t want to spend much money
Pension Luis is certainly for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Pension Luis is a wonderful small hotel. It is close to a lot of Indian Gourmets and a few minute walk to the famous strip La Rambla. The Owner of Pension Luis is really friendly. If you want to make your own breakfast there is a small kitchen. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

This place is certainly not for everyone, but if you are just after a cheap place to bunk down in the centre of things, this is a good place to choose. The owner is very friendly and helpful, and the place felt safe and secure. We had a room with a blacony facing away from the street. However, there were some other guests who came home at 3am and chatted loudly in the hall, banishing all sleep. The rooms are not sound proof. Overall, however, it was a good experience, and if you are used to hostels and other such places, then you will be happy with this place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

I've been in Pension Luis and I liked it. It's not luxury at all but the rooms are really clean. When you enter the outside door of the pension that is the door of a building it's a bit disapointing but when you enter the Luis pension it's a nice place. You have to go up 3 floors (it says it is on the first but it's not like that). Luis is a very helpfull guy and he made our stay really good. There is wi-fi connection in the rooms and a computer in the pension. Rooms are well cleaned and I saw Luis cleaning them for the people that were coming. Towles are like beach towels but at least you have them. There room was warm and it has air conditioning too. You can use the kitchen to cook but we didn't like it very much. The pension is very well located because you're near turistic places, near the metro and near plaza catalunya that is important to go to the airport. FOr the price you pay this is a good place to stay! There is no breakfast included but there is a place near there that is called LA Candela that I liked very much.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

After reading the other reviews, I can see why people say what they do, after spending time here. My boyfriend, a friend of ours and myself stayed here for 5 nights. It was a place we picked for the location and closeness to The Ramblas and the oceanfront.

We expected it to be a place where we would keep our things and sleep and shower. Luis does his best to keep the place in clean shape. I can see how someone would think it is dirty because it is an old building.

We wanted our own room, which we got, including a bathroom and shower. Those were all given to us. We arrived there with Luis greeting us, helping us with our baggage. It is on the 3rd or 4th floor, but the we did not complain about the walk up. It is set within a cultural district of locals and amazing restaurants and groceries.

Luis took his time to show us around. The sheets do not match, but that added to the details of Pension Luis. There are colorful bedding with all the blankets you could need. The bathroom towels are vibrant, hilarious towels.

Our room was not facing the street and it was very quiet. We had a small balcony.

There is a kitchen area and it was a little cramped, but Luis had many pots and pans to use, condiments, the use of a refrigerator, microwave, stove, sink, etc. If you are wanting to mix going to restaurants and eating in, then this place is great for that. Every morning Luis offered to make me tea. He is very friendly and easy to talk to.

He has a free use of internet on a very old pc, but it got us information we needed of places we wanted to visit after Spain.

Overall, this place is for a couple or small group of people that enjoy the simple things in life and the hospitality of a small house-like setting. This is a place that you can only expect so much from, but with our experience we received much advise from Luis about the city and a comfortable, safe place to sleep and bathe. We enjoyed ourselves and would stay there again.

  • Liked — location, the hospitality
  • Disliked — the rooms are small, but for 3 of us, it was fine. if you have a larger group it might be a problem.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pension Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Luis

Address: C/ Hospital 93 1-1a, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 292 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Pension Luis Hotel Barcelona
Pension Luis Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Luis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pension Luis to your Saves list