We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Rate via Hotwire.com was worth the extra distance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hesperia Fira Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hesperia Fira Suites to your Saves list
Hesperia Fira Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mare de Deu de Bellvitge, 3 | Hospitalet de Llobregat, 08907 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #149 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Rate via Hotwire.com was worth the extra distance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

At the end of a Mediterranean cruise, we stayed in Barcelona for three nights. In order to save money, I decided to book this hotel -- as I got a very low rate on Hotwire.com. The other benefit is that it is located on the western outskirts of the city, not far from the airport. So on the morning of our departure, we could get out to the airport more quickly.

For the four members our family, obtained two separate suites (each of which had separate bedroom and living/kitchen facilities). Including taxes, paid about $500 US (two suites, for three nights) -- that works out to about $84 per night, per suite.

The hotel is located at the last stop on the Red, Metro Line #1. When getting off the ship, we got to the nearest metro stop on La Rambla -- not far from the port (which was on the yellow line), and then changed over to the Line #1 metro along the way. Because we bought a 10 ride ticket for less than 1 Euro per ride, this enabled us to get from the ship to the hotel for less than 1 Euro per person (but I am one who is willing to schlep luggage through the train system. many others would probably hire a van or taxi service to the hotel at much more expense).

When you exit the metro station at the end of the line, you will see Hesperia's high rise hotel about a block away. It is in here that you check in, even though you are staying at their 'suites' facility next door.

Some of the other advantages of this property:
* they offer a free shuttle service at various times of the day, both to and from the city center (near Plaza de Catalunya) and to the airport. This helped us save additional fees on the metro. On some days, we would take the free shuttle in to the city center and use the metro back.

* on the morning we departed, the first shuttle run to the airport was already packed. However, there is a bus stop about a block away (near the filling station), which has a bus to the airport. It only cost us 2 Euro's per person. Note: leave extra time to get to the airport and your international flight. The terminal that the bus drops you off at, is not for international travel. You have to take the free airport shuttle to reach that terminal and the drive is as long as the bus into the airport -- I am not kidding. It felt like the next terminal was in the next county -- so leave plenty of extra time.

* because the suites have a small refrigerator, microwave, sink, and kitchen utensils, bowls, etc. -- you can save money on food/snacks, if you desire. Also a good way to at least have some drinks on hand in your room, for the evening. A couple of blocks from the hotel there are a two very reasonably priced grocery stores. There is also a '365' bakery, at which you can get very inexpensive and delicious baked goods. We stocked up on larger bottles of water and some fruit, baked goods, cereal, milk, yogurt, etc. and avoided the cost of breakfast.

* WiFi worked from one of the suites but not the other. We were all able to access WiFi from the lobby of the main hotel, so would sometimes use it there before catching the shuttle in the morning or on the way home.

* There is no peep hole on the hotel room doors in the suites section. That would be something for them to consider adding, for security purposes.

* Because the cruise ship docks early in the morning, we arrived at the hotel well before the 3pm check in time. The desk personnel at check in are very friendly. They let us check the bags and provided claim checks. We then went off to eat lunch nearby and purchased some supplies (as indicated above). Then went back around 3pm to check in.

A note regarding use of the metro late at night, back to the hotel. We came back pretty late two of the three nights. Because you are at the last stop on the metro line, the crowd on the subway continues to thin out during your journey, although it seemed like there were a good number of people still aboard, even on the second to last stop. By the last stop, there are typically only a few people left on the cars. We always felt safe and were never bothered, but depending upon your personal frame of reference and how nervous you are, you might opt for a cab back if you are coming in very late.

All in all, if I was staying in Barcelona again, I would probably re-book here to save the dollars (especially since they offer the free shuttle into the City Center).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    117
    31
    9
    3
See reviews for
37
146
12
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Big Disappointment. The suites are not 5 star standard and shouldn't be advertised as same. Furniture is well worn, Decor is very dark and dull. Needs updating. Tiles on floors chipped. Only thing in its favour is that it is very near Airport. Only suitable for overnight stay. No restaurants etc near Hotel. Next time we will stay nearer Barcelona with some facilties.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Although the confirmation stated Suite with terrace, it was only a suite with a bedroom and living room. We were put in a smoking floor without being asked. Bathroom is relatively new but has dark tiles which makes it dark in sum. Wireless is for free but the connection breakes every 5 minutes so that you have to enter the code again and again.


  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

For a short overnight stay in Barcelona, we stayed in the Hesperia Fira Suites in L´Hospitalet de Llobregat. It was announced by HRS as a 5-star-hotel and came with a quite attractive price... and a big disappointment: Very far from a 5-star, maybe somewhere between 3 and 4. The hotel is annex to some sort of event organization and lodged in a dark separate building without any personnel. At the reception, you will get an explanation how to get there and then you will try it out on your own, carrying your bags yourself. There is apparently no room service either, at least they were not able to provide us with a breakfast at 7 in the morning before checking out. The hotel is located in the periphery, so long end expensive cab drives into the city add to the seemingly attractive price. The rooms are average, our bathroom was somewhat worn out and in particular the critical spots on the shower door need urgent repair. The minibar is stuffed with cheaper products at quite substantial price and softdrinks are not included in the room rate.

In short: disappointing. We will not come back ! A year before, we had an excellent stay in the A C Hotel Victoria Suites, which were unfortunately booked.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is more a pseudo-review as we checked in at 10pm, and checked out at 5am to catch a 7am flight to a nearby island. I wanted a hotel near the airport where it's relatively inexpensive, quiet enough, clean, and we won't have a problem checking in and out due to our schedule. This hotel fit the bill. And it's next to a 5-star hotel, so we expected something similar for interiors. The room did not disappoint. It's large, with all of the kitchen amenities you'd need (we never used), and there's a separate living room. One of the best-appointed shower rooms we had recently. Modern room. The lobby is empty when we were there. You will need to check in next door, and the key gets you in the Suites' lobby area and your room. There's a convenience store next door. Not too crazy about the bed.

I would not recommend this hotel if you're new to Barcelona, or if you're a lone female traveler. Pay extra more for the convenience and safety of the city hotels. But if you've been to Barcelona, and you want to save $ on food and lodging, or you just want a decent hotel near the airport then this is a perfect hotel for you. There's no walkable places to eat, so you might as well take the free shuttle to the city for food. Or you can take the L1 metro apparently, which takes you to town in 35 minutes.

The red bus 46 (about 5 euros) takes you to the hotel stop, which is 2 stops (24 minutes) outside of the airport. Be mindful to take the same bus back, as we made a mistake of taking a different bus which took us around the city and back to the airport, at the wrong terminal to boot. So we ended up paying 20 euros still to get to the other side of the airport. We still made our flight, but that was definitely an adventure.

We rented a locker to store our large luggage at the airport for 6 euros a day. I highly recommend if you plan to come back to BCN before your flight back home.

We would go back for the kitchenette, the cleanliness of the room, and the price, and the fact that it will no longer going to be our first trip to BCN.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hesperia Fira Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Fira Suites

Address: Mare de Deu de Bellvitge, 3 | Hospitalet de Llobregat, 08907 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#98 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#110 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hesperia Fira Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hesperia Fira Suites aparthotel is conveniently located in Barcelona's new business district, offering travelers a practical and modern place to stay for business or vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hesperia Fira Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Fira Hotel Barcelona
Hesperia Fira Barcelona
Hesperia Fira Suites Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hesperia Fira Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.