We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute, comfortable hotel in perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 54 Barceloneta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 54 Barceloneta to your Saves list
Hotel 54 Barceloneta
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig Joan de Borbo, 54, 08003 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #362 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“cute, comfortable hotel in perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Okay as other people are saying - yes the hotel is small, but who cares when there is so much to do and see in Barcelona!! It is perfect for a holiday if you want to be near the beach/harbour and the City! The nearest metro stop is a 5/10 min walk and the beach is a 5 minute walk away. It is surrounded by many shops and typically Spanish back streets with great little shops/bars/tapas/restaurants. Me and my boyfriend had the most amazing time here and the hotel has really comfortable beds, big hot showers and a great variety of breakfast. The staff - especially a young waitress were so pleasant and she helped us so much with how to get to various places and what to visit. Barceloneta has an amazingly chilled out atmosphere :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    57
    34
    15
    6
See reviews for
15
62
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just returned from 9 days in Barca.This was our 5th visit and we decided to stay in Barceloneta for a change but surprisingly they are few hotels to choose from in this area. I only looked at the reviews for Hotel 54 after I had booked and was fairly apprehensive to say the least. However the only downside was probably the inside sound proofing and the poor wardrobe/storage space. Our room - 205 - was on the corner at the back and although initially disappointed at the lack of a view it was more than made up by the complete lack of traffic noise at night, The front rooms although having a lovely view of the port overlook a very busy pavement and road.
The bed was big and comfortable and sheets changed almost daily. Room cleaned every day and towels always changed on request. Quirky bathroom with glass walls. Could do with a blind on the bathroom window though as at night street light shines in. Room itself pretty basic with minimal hanging space and very small shelves but no drawers. Wall mounted TV, free safe and WiFi access. Very efficient air conditioning. Could hear people coming and going in corridor and furniture being moved above and below.
The reception bar area was smart and well kept but the breakfast buffet squeezed into a corner. We only had breakfast here on 1 day . Was only 9 euro but not great and better going to one of the nearby cafes. There is apparently upgrading work going on at the moment so this may account for lack of breakfast space. Bar and reception staff lovely and always helpful.
Best thing about this place is the location - 2 minute walk to the lovely beach, buses right outside for 10 minute ride into the city and easy walking distance to the Born district.
it would be nice for this hotel to have a bit of life injected into it as bar area and outside space was nearly always empty and the surrounding places were buzzing.
*** Generally I would rate this hotel as Good and not Average but cant do this on the above rating system

Room Tip: Corner rear facing rooms looked biggest and probably the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed here for work and was pleasantly surprised by the trendy, chilled out vibes.

The public areas are pretty small but perfectly formed - great attention to detail. The bar is small- doubles up as the breakfast area in the morning.

Breakfast is nice - I just grabbed a few take out bits and took it to the beach.

Rooms are small but again nice and trendy. Wifi it strong throughout the hotel.

Receptionist and bar staff were all really pleasant.

We used the main area for a meeting during the afternoon and they were perfectly accommodating.

This part of the city is nice - I'd return in my own time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The staff are really helpful at the Hotel 54. There is a manned bar until 0000 every night which makes great cocktails and tapas. You can take this either in the lobby, on the patio or on the roof terrace.

The room itself an internet ready TV for YouTube-ing at your leisure. The free WiFi is also a great asset. The bathroom has a great shower although when cleaned our towels were only replaced once over our three night stay.

The checkout time of 1200 also gives you a bit more room for the turn-around.

Barceloneta is a fantastic area and the hotel has great bus links just outside. The 64&39 will take you round to the other side of the marina, and the 59 will take you up Las Rablas and to the Plaça Cataluñya. Hotel 54 is also a 3 minute walk from the beach and there are a plethora of decent bars and restaurants at your door step. I would thoroughly recommend buying the "Hola BCN" transport cards which give you unlimited public transport throughout the city.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It´s a nice hotel, localized very close to the beach but it´s within at least 20-min-walking distance from the Ramblas and Plaça de Catalunya, so consider this hotel only for summer.
The interior is kinda futuristic and functional, the air conditioning is really faint and quiet (but efficient) thus it´s impossible to catch a cold =)
There´s a rooftop with a nice view of the Port and Barceloneta.

Room Tip: close to the beach but it´s within at least 20-min-walking distance from the Ramblas and Plaça de Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburg, Nova Scotia, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We recently spent a total of six nights at Hotel 54 - at the beginning and end of our trip to Spain. As others have mentioned, the hotel enjoys an unbeatable location. Everything is within easy walking distance of the hotel including famous sites, excellent restaurants and the sea.

That said, there were a couple of negatives that made for a less than enjoyable stay.
First of all, the noise was the worst we have ever experienced in any hotel and that includes hotels in Europe, Asia and North America. The walls between the rooms have no sound insulation and others' lives are yours to share... Also, there are many hard surfaces, so sound just bounces off everything. Some nights we were awakened three or four times by people slamming doors, dragging wheelie bags down the hall, and talking - sometimes at three or four in the morning.

Our room faced the marina, and was very clean. The bathroom was OK but the original shower head had been replaced by a sort of hand-held unit which meant crouching in the corner to take a proper shower. The soap was the size of a communion wafer and one of our bath towels actually had a hole in the middle of it.

As for the breakfast, it was unimaginative and very basic compared to what we were offered in other hotels we stayed at on this trip. In a country that is famous for wonderful food, this breakfast buffet offers processed meats and cheeses, wrapped croissants, watery scrambled eggs, cold baked beans and tinned peaches and pineapple. Even the orange juice is made from crystals. Some mornings we just had coffee. Certainly, nothing was worth paying an extra supplement for, which sadly we did.

Would we return to this hotel? Probably not, unless management addresses some of the obvious problems.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at Hotel 54 and I would thoroughly recommend to the moderate traveller whrer you will get grat service, excellent locatio and modern facilities. This is the BEST neighbourhood to locate yourself fro a stay in Barcleona. It is home to the waterfront distrcts, the Barcelonetta Mercato and an amazing range of traditional tapas bars and quite funky bars and restaurants. I could live in this barri!

Room Tip: Don't worry abot breakfast- there is so many optins at the doorstep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 54 Barceloneta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 54 Barceloneta

Address: Passeig Joan de Borbo, 54, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 54 Barceloneta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel 54 Barceloneta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Barcelona
54 Barceloneta Hotel
Hotel 54 Barceloneta Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 54 Barceloneta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.