We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Gaudi fans traveling to BCN on budgets” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Que Tal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Que Tal to your Saves list
Que Tal
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Mallorca, 290, 08037 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #394 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“For Gaudi fans traveling to BCN on budgets”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Located in the center of the Antoni Gaudí triangle: La Pedrera, Casa Batlló & Saga Familia, less than 15 min each direction.

It's a 2-star, very very basic, hostel with a very small door sign. Not a Gaudi fan myself, but strongly recommend it to those traveling-on-budget fans. May take a train from the airport for 4 Euro to the 'passig de gracia' stop, then stroll 5 min to arrive.

Wide enough space to actually take three people per room.(You figure out how to get the 3rd bed.)

Also Sonia the hostess gives best recommendation to all guests, with happy smiles all the time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    26
    8
    20
See reviews for
13
26
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This Hostal is well located, near to two metro stops and within walking distance of all sights. This was our second visit; the room this time was not as good, faced into the courtyard as oppose to the street, but still it was clean and warm, and tidied every day. Window had to stay shut to keep the noise out!
The staff here are so helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Two bathrooms meant that there was never a long wait for one. Coffee machine in reception, but so many cafes outside along with great restaurants.
Price wise, this hostal is good value for money, and you are able to leave your bags with them after check out.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed for two nights, which were so bad. Booked the double room, with single beds. The windows and walls are so thin that you can hear everything. The noise from the street coupled with the very loud front door buzzer is enough to prevent you from having any sleep whatsoever. Do yourself a favour look elsewhere, i wish i did.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We booked a double room with private bathroom in this hostel, so can't comment on the bigger rooms/communal bathrooms, but we had fantastic value for the money paid.

The hotel is a little tired looking, but is clean and comfortable, and ideally located for the Sagrada familia, the Gaudi exhibitions, and Las Ramblas and the Gothic quarters. There are some excellent restaurants nearby, and a couple of good cafes for breakfast too.

Our room was really quiet, and we had the benefit of getting wifi in the room too. The hotel has a 'no noise' policy after 11pm, so we had no problem sleeping, especially as the bed was so comfortable too. The shower was a little small, but there was loads of hot water, which can sometimes be an issue in a hostel. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly too.

If you are visiting Barcelona on a budget, but still want an element of comfort, then this hotel is great.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit extra to get a private bathroom, and the rooms on the inside seem to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

For what we paid, our stay was fantastic. The staff were very helpful, providing us with maps, directions etc. and suggestions for where to go to eat/drink. Our room was clean and beds were comfy and the room was cleaned everyday.

The location was superb, 10 minute walk from the Sagrada Familia and La Ramblas.

Only fault was our room was a bit loud (traffic outside) but earplugs would solve this! Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great location, nice and clean and real nice folks running the place. Great price. Having stayed a couple of times at this place, the room you draw can make all the difference. Some of the rooms get noise from the hallways, especially around the front desk. Still, I don't think you can beat this place. I give it five of five

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The location is good and the room was always clean. One problem we had was that the Wi-fi did not reach our room so we had to go to the lobby to use it. The staff were friendly and offered to help find things around Barcelona. Overall, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Que Tal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Que Tal

Address: Mallorca, 290, 08037 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Que Tal 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Que Tal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Que Tal Hotel Barcelona
Que Tal Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Que Tal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.