We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel and location full of character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Market Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Market Hotel to your Saves list
Market Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Comte Borrell, 68, 08015 Barcelona, Spain (Sant Antoni)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hotel and location full of character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in the Market Hotel in November 2012 and really enjoyed it. Our room was very spacious and located at the back of the building, so very quiet, albeit no daylight. The buffet breakfast was very good for Spain, and the restaurant, which we used once, was very nice as well. There are a lot of very nice restaurants in the area as well, and we got great recommendations from the reception staff.
The area is very quiet compared to other parts of Barcelona, there is the market, bus stops and metro station very close by, and the airport bus stops just around the corner.
We would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one facing inwards of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    226
    58
    21
    7
See reviews for
38
230
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. I think the value for the price was fantastic. We stayed here before and after our cruise in December 2012. The rooms were clean and comfortable and average in size. I liked the bathrooms, they came with blow dryers and had nice big showers with good water pressure. The hotel was unique and not a cookie cutter chain which we appreciated, it definitely added to the experience. It was easy to get around the city from the hotel by walking our using the metro and a lot more affordable than some of the hotels that are right in Las Ramblas. The hotel offers free wifi and complimentary water and fruit and the front desk. There is a small charge for phone calls even if they are local so be mindful of that. They offer a decent breakfast buffet for about 8 euros and it wasn't bad for the price (does not include coffee). We found the staff to be polite, friendly and helpful (especially with directions) and they will provide you with a map. My only complaint about this place is the noise. If you have neighbors you will hear them clearly. We heard our neighbors talking and walking in and out of their room. It was not enough to bother us, but if we would have gotten noisier neighbors who knows.

Room Tip: Be cautious of balcony rooms, ours was facing the street and we got a lot of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel is slightly off the beaten path but if you enjoy not being in a super touristy area then it is a great location. There are several very hip bars right around the corner and the metro stop is across the street. Only a 10 minute walk to La Rambla and other major destinations. While our room was very well designed- the bed was like sleeping on a concrete slab and the internet service was spotty. That said, we loved our stay there. The value for the money was exceptional and the restaurant had wonderful high-end cuisine that was extremely reasonably priced. We also loved the hip bar area in evening.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street because it can be very loud. destinations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a very nice stay here in late October. Good sized superior room for 3 of us and very nice bathroom. Hotel reception was very friendly and helpful. Location was OK, very near the metro but a bit of a walk to Ramblas and Gotic areas.We ate in the restaurant a few times and thought the food was very good and reasonably priced. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and found the hotel to be an excellent value and would recommend it to others without hesitation.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Our group of six were pleased with this little gem. The rooms are small, but clean. The staff was very pleasant and extremely helpful. Plus, the hotel is not in the middle of the chaos of Barcelona, so our rooms were surprisingly quiet. We frequented the restaurant in hotel 3 times (breakfast, lunch and dinner) on different days of our four-day stay and were pleased with the quality of the food and the prices. It is not luxury by far, but it is quaint and a very enjoyable find.

Room Tip: Request a room on an upper floor if you are concerned about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Market Hotel. We stayed 2 nights pre cruise. The hotel staff was excellent. Our room was on the 3rd floor and the wifi was great...we had no problems with the wifi! Our room also had a small patio area. We were able to check-in around 1pm. The TV has one English channel...CNN...which was ok with me. We did not purchase the breakfast. There are plenty of bakeries around the area ( one across the street and one around the corner). There is also a grocery store around the corner. I would rate this hotel higher, because we love the room decor, the shower and staff, BUT...the walls are literally paper thin. I had trouble sleeping even with my earplugs in. You could hear telephone conversations, the TV, talking and um other "things" going on in the rooms on either side. The location is about a 20 minute walk to Placa Catalunya area, but there is the metro stop Urgell up the street. Location is in a safe, family area. We felt completely safe walking back from Placa Catalunya at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I were looking for an affordable hotel in Barcelona and my sister had recommended Market Hotel. After a long day of traveling we were hoping to check in early unfortunately weren't given access to our room until normal check in time. When we got to the room we were surprised how small the actual room was. There was hardly room to set down our luggage. We attempted to use the AC unit but soon realized it was broken. The hotel sent up a repair man and while attempting to fix our unit the power in the entire hall went out. This happened a couple times. They finally agreed to move our room (we were also on the street side and it was quite noisy). In addition, like other reviews the wifi was very spotty. Once at the back of the hotel the room was significantly larger and we were happy. The room was clean and the bathroom shower amazing. The location of the hotel is a bit farther from the action so be prepared to walk a lot. The hotel restaurant was really great and we ended up eating there twice. All in all - this hotel is completely adequate but next time we may spend a little more to stay in a better hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Hotel

Address: Comte Borrell, 68, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#106 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#165 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Market Hotel & Restaurant has been open since October 2004, and although it functions normally and is working as if it were, it is not finished yet. At the moment it has 33 rooms, and at the end it will have about 80. All the rooms have full-equipped bathroom, air conditioning, central heating, cable TV, free internet access and phone, and although all they look similar, they are not all the same, and there are also different types of rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.