We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Other choices at Plaza Espanya” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ayre Hotel Gran Via

Save Saved
You added Ayre Hotel Gran Via to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via de Les Corts Catalanes 322 - 324, 08004 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Other choices at Plaza Espanya”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights for some business meetings, and a weekend to explore. 10th time in Barcelona, so already know my way around pretty well. Plaze Espanya is a central hub for getting around - nice to be near the Fira, fountains, Montuic for a nice walk/climb. and great to have the airport bus stop there. A little far for some from Ramblas, but good for me, as it gets a bit too busy there and walking is great, and subway and buses are easy..

The hotel is nice and clean enough. And staff is very friendly.

But I wouldn't stay again as I found it too dark and noisy. I asked for a quiet room, and got a room on the inner courtyard. I do not recommend this. The rooms are so close to each other, you can see and hear what is going on in them. You can put down the dark blind, and with that and just in general because it is enclosed - it is definitely a mole experience. I really have a hard time getting up if it is dark in my room. I was told this would be quieter than a street room, but it was noisy too - with some fan from 'outside' and funny fan noises in the washroom. Bathrooms really dark too - i don't think most washroom are designed thinking about women who put makeup on.

I didn't eat at the hotel - I found the prices more expensive that on the street, and much less imaginative. There are lots of basic choices at the Arenas across the street, including a big grocery store. And just walk a few blocks and there are great places to sit and have some tapas on the street patios.

Except during MWC - there are tons of decent choices in Barcelona. I will pick a different one next time.

Room Tip: don't take an inner courtyard one
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Director General at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Caroline,

Thank you for your opinion,
10 times on Barcelona, you're such an expert about the city, it is a lovely city :)
Is great to know that you have a good opinion about our staff and our location,
Moreover our interior rooms are facing a courtyard with daylight, but not as bright as the exterior rooms, the rooms are one in front of the other because the courtyard but as you say there are a dark blind to have some privacy on the rooms.
We apologize about your experience on the room, we will share your opinion with our team to improve our services,
Anyway you can contact us to follow your case with more accurancy to socialmedia.granvia@ayrehoteles.com.

Montse Sanchez,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    344
    84
    15
    11
See reviews for
93
293
39
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed here for two nights prior to a cruise, good location and very easy to get bus from airport. Near the fountains and stops for hop on hop off bus so good area for site seeing. Rooms are very modern and clean but beds are so hard that for me they were very uncomfortable . We had breakfast in a bakery each morning across the road- wonderful and ate a snack in the hotel - no problems. Staff helpful with sightseeing recomodations and organising taxi to the port. Overall good base for seeing Barcelona .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Director General at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear sunnygirl111,

Thank so much for your opinion about your stay,
Our location is one of our strengths, the centre only 20 minutes walking or by metro just 4 stops, the magic fountain just 100 metres, I hope that you like it.
I hope that you enjoy your cruise.
I'm sorry about your opinion about our beds, we will share your opinion with our team to improve our services,

Montse Sanchez,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed here for two nights with my girlfriend.
Hotel is quite new so modern decors and good condition throughout.
It is a good hotel with easy access to the attractions.
Metro station is just a minute walk away.
Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Social Media Ayre Gran Via at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear ksin716,

Thank so much for your opinion,
Is great to see that you had a nice stay on our hotel and you like the decoration
We expect to see you again if you come back to Barcelona.

Regards,

Social Media,
Carlos Burgos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here for a week at the beginning of October and was impressed with this hotel. Check in was quick and easy with a choice of a street view or inside room. I chose the street side and was on the 7th floor. Although it's a very busy street there was not much noise if you kept the windows closed. Rooms were comfy. Good sized bathrooms with plenty of hot water. The fridge in the room was very handy for drinks etc. and you are given a complimentary bottle of water. The food in the restaurant was amazing, well presented and very tasty. Prices not bad too. I cannot comment on the breakfast because I generally do not eat breakfast. The different options looked very good though. The hotel is very close to the metro which was convenient for me and the Arenas shopping centre is also just a few minutes away. All in all I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Staff were always cheerful and very helpful and the location is great. The only thing I would suggest is maybe having tea/coffee facilities in the rooms for that late night cup of tea.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Kanlev,

First of all thank you for choosing Ayre Hotel Gran via for your stay in Barcelona. Your opinion for us it’s a gift.
We appreciate it .
We expect to see you again if you come back to Barcelona.
Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you want to make any suggestion,

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Arrived by bus from the airport and it stopped metres away from the hotel. The staff were very helpful. We had breakfast in the hotel - not the buffet but the light breakfast. this was fresh and no more expensive than eating the same in a café. A bonus was the station to Montserrat was only metres from the hotel. It was a bit of a walk to La Ramblas but the metro was also close by. The rooms wee clean and new with excellent double glazing - it would have been noisy if we hadn't had it. Very good black out blinds also. The bathroom was large. We were there for 3 nights and felt it was value for money. Very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Presume the whole hotel is double glazed. We had a view over the Gran Via, out to the converted bull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Therese,

First of all thank you for choosing Ayre Hotel Gran via for your stay in Barcelona. Your opinion for us it’s a gift.
We appreciate it .
We expect to see you again if you come back to Barcelona.
Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you want to make any suggestion,

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were in Barcelona for 2 nights and found the hotel in a perfect location. Though it was a distance from La Ramblas and the pier, the Metro station was a 3 minute walk. We were there for the La Merce Festival so there were many street activities, including fireworks... The staff help us navigate all we wanted to see. Even with the festival on and a bandstand on the street one block away, our room was quiet. Short walk to restaurants and shopping. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for choosing Ayre Hotel Gran via for your stay in Barcelona. Your opinion for us it’s a gift.
We appreciate it .
We expect to see you again if you come back to Barcelona.
Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you want to make any suggestion,

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel is well located - walking distance from the train station and very close to the metro and centre of town - Plaza de Espanya and the Magic Fountain which was superb! The room was spacious and very comfortable.The staff were cordial and the breakfast excellent. A nice touch would have been to have a kettle in the room so guests can enjoy an early morning cup of tea. It is pricey for a budget traveller but good value for money.

Room Tip: We had a good room on the 4th floor which was nice - overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ayre Hotel Gran Via, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for choosing Ayre Hotel Gran via for your stay in Barcelona. Your opinion for us it’s a gift.
We appreciate it .
We expect to see you again if you come back to Barcelona.
Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you want to make any suggestion,

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ayre Hotel Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre Hotel Gran Via

Address: Gran Via de Les Corts Catalanes 322 - 324, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#95 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#113 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre Hotel Gran Via 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently built Ayre Hotel Gran Via enjoys a privileged location in the Plaza de Espana, close to the Montjuic Castle, where one can enjoy the popular tourist spots of Barcelona. The 188 rooms provide a modern and minimalist ambience with a mini-bar, TV, hairdryer, safe deposit box and WI-FI system. Guests will also find a cafeteria, restaurant, garage, and modern meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ayre Hotel Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Hotel Barcelona
Ayre Hotel Gran Via Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayre Hotel Gran Via, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.