We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be conned by the 'Superior Rooms'” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 987 Barcelona Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added 987 Barcelona Hotel to your Saves list
987 Barcelona Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mallorca 288 | Mallorca 288, 08037 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't be conned by the 'Superior Rooms'”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We booked this hotel with 9 friends for my husband's 60th birthday. Great location and for the money it was good value - but having paid for a superior room (it was his birthday after all!) we found that our friends had much larger rooms with far nicer bathrooms and decoration. When we queried this we were told it was because we had a terrace...well, yes we did but so did our friends and they paid standard. Bearing in mind we had brought 6 rooms worth of business at a low season time of year, it wouldn't have hurt 987 to make sure the birthday boy had a nice pad.

The rooms are very funky - but no storage for clothes other than open shelves. Good location and nice and clean though.

Room Tip: Don't be conned by the so called Superior room - tatty and smaller than the standards - just for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    203
    80
    17
    9
See reviews for
38
225
16
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poznan, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Nearly everything is fine about this hotel. It's centrally located, clean, comfortable and stylish. The only downside was the staff that could have been more present... but this was something very cosmetic and didn't bother me.

Overall, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Loved everything about this place from the website to the second you walk through the door! Service was excellent and the room was AMAZING! Could not ask for more. Close to everything, clean and presentation +++

I would recommend anyone stay here, and if I was to visit Barcelona again, this would be the only place I would check into.

Above my expectations staying in this place and you'll love the massive bed and shower head!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The reception staff were very obliging from order a taxi to chasing up the transfer back to the airport at the end of our stay. Very clean Hotel and the room was ideal for the duration. The breakfast room was again very clean and tidy and the staff were happy in their work and most Polite. The food was hot/buffet style which was plentiful and self service. The hotel was easy accessable to all the attractions including the open top bus. Be careful in the market and other confined areas for dippers but simple prevention helps to protect. Keep things out of sight and nothing in jacket pockets.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

This was a weekend break, to explore the beautiful City of Barcelona.

The Hotel is well situated about 800 metres from the main thoroughfare. First impressions of the Hotel were very favourable, - it is a boutique style, cool and trendy hotel housed in a great modernista building and the blend of old and new really works well.

However, look beyond the surface and a few cracks begin to show. There is quite a bit of cosmetic damage to public areas, holes in walls etc, and some of the "cool" accessories are in fact quite tacky - made of plastic, and lacking in quality.

The room was fine - great nights sleep on really comfy beds, and the breakfast buffet was excellent too. The staff were ok, - not particularly friendly, and seemed a bit too interested in their mobile phones which was distracting, but overall this is a good, central place to stay in the most vibrant and fantastic City you could wish for.

Room Tip: Stay on the upper floors for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 987 Barcelona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 987 Barcelona Hotel

Address: Mallorca 288 | Mallorca 288, 08037 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#112 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#149 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 987 Barcelona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 987 Barcelona Hotel is located in the centre of the city next to Paseo de Gracia and a 5 minutes walk away from Gaudí´s famous monument “La Pedrera” and Casa Batlló. In spite of its innovative concept and avant-garde design, the 987 Barcelona Hotel still maintains the warmth and tranquillity so often sought by hotel guests. Listed as part of the city’s heritage, the façade of this hotel contrasts sharply with the modern interior design.88 rooms and suites are available to ensure all guests enjoy a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 987 Barcelona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
987 Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona 987 Hotel
987 Barcelona Hotel Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 987 Barcelona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.