We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MH Apartments S. Familia

Save Saved
You added MH Apartments S. Familia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MH Apartments S. Familia
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Carrer Valencia 423, 08013 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #284 of 674 Specialty lodging in Barcelona
dublin ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not bad!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

Good location for Sagrada Familia.... But otherwise lots of walking or taxis fir anywhere popular

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
9
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

These apartments are great value for money. We stayed at a 2-bedroom, 4-bed apt (+sofabed) with 4 people in total and there's plenty of space. Decor is modern, the place was spotless and there were plenty of towels. The kitchen was fully equipped and the location - on corner of Carrer de Girona & Valencia is super central. There's an upscale bakery next doors and a cute fresh produce market (Concepcio on Valencia) 3 steps away...

Now, things to look out for that are NOT that good about MH apartments:

The wifi was not working - very feeble signal. There were no hand towels/tea towels for the kitchen. It would have been handy to have at least some basic kitchen stuff such as salt, sugar, tea, filter coffee etc. Even just a small amount of sachets would have been great.

With 4 people (let alone 5) it's not handy to have the toilet in the bathroom. And the master bedroom facing Carrer de Girona makes it noisy - but that's just the location.

Oh and the check-in machine in the hallway is great IF it would work properly. The touch screen is not sensitive enough and there was an error pop-up window that blocked the main screen.

So, if you can overcome these minor irritations then book this place - especially if you're in a group. Our stay (2 nights for 4 people) amounted to €50 p/pers p/night!

Room Tip: If you want quiet, check whether the apartment is street-facing and avoid those!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Check-in is a 2pm, they were very nice to let us in and leave our bags inside the building, 5 people raveling with 10 suitcase is not easy to walk around Barcelona, you could be a target for many as it happened to us in the subway, keep your purses, money hidden and in several places. When they let us come in the lady was very nice to go through the apartment, there was another person in charge of the preparation/cleaning or the apartment, she had towels ready and if needed she'll provide extras, we stayed twice, at the beginning and at the end of our journey with a cruise in between. The 200 apartments have a better view, spectacular view of a corner of the Sagrada Familia from the kitchen/living room and main bedroom for interior apartments. Do not use the washer/dryer all-in-one machine to wash unless you are staying long enough, a little difficult to understand how it works and takes 9hrs to go through the entire cycle, from wash to dry. Includes dishwasher, coffee maker, that was very nice. Just across the street there is a grocery store and next door a locutorio to call your family and use internet if don't have your own computer. There is a FREE internet access at this apartment, a little slow but good enough. Beds were a little hard for my taste, my hubby said it was fine. One of the last nights the AC in my bedroom (main) started to drip lots of water to the floor, maintenance was suppose to come in and fix it the next morning which they did. We lower the AC to colder from the living room one, after a few hours started to spit ICE, not kidding!, we had to turn it off completely. Each room has its own AC. The entire apartment is pettit by cozy and modern.

Room Tip: great view, centric, close to subway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Truely apartments really allow the visitor to experience Barcelona. The apartment entrance is non-descript and melts into the neighborhood. Plenty of services (banks, restaurant, etc...) nearby and two blocks from Sagrada Familia.

The apartment was in excellent condition with a full kitchen and large rooms. Neighbors were very noisy one night but not a show stopper.

Great accomodation if you are self sufficient and want a local experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

When you book a hotel almost two months in advance, you should expect to have a hotelroom? Here's our story:

After arriving at the airport, we called to the MH Apartments Sagrada Familia. We were told, that they had overbooked the hotel and we were given a new address to another hotel to stay in. The other hotel located in totally different place, it was in the old town in a dark alley with construction going on. The room had one small window, it was dark and small, four separate beds with dirty looking plankets... well, it certainly wasn't that four star apartment with two rooms that we had booked!!

We told that we did not accept this room and left the hotel (that hotel did not even belong to the MH Apartments group, I wonder how they ever found that rathole). Then began the endless phone calls (foreign cell phones - of course) with the MH Apt. Sagrada's staff. After four and half houres later, Friday evening 6.30 PM, tired and hungry, we were still out of hotel.
Finally, we managed to get a studio at MH Apt. Rambla's. That hotel was quite nice, but that's another story.

Ok, overbookings happen, but the way they handled the situation was totally inappropriate. If one accepts to move to a different hotel it shoud at least be same level or better than the original! We would never imagined that low-grading that we were offered! The person who tried to work things out was not very helpfull either ("I call you back in an half hour" was all we heard continiously), in fact, if we had'n been active ourselves, we would have to sleep under a bridge.

We stayed five nights in Barcelona, and the first day was totally ruined when we couldn'd do anything but drag all the luggage with us and hang around, untill, finally, at 8 PM we managed to find a new hotel. It was a great deal of stress! I am really quite bitter - why us - why did they do this to a family with two children?

We had to pay the staying in a new hotel in advance (luckily it was free for five nights), I had paid the MH Apt. Sagrada Familia hotel in advance, so we paid twice... The first reservation was made via ebookers and paid with credid card... After over a month I still haven't got my money back.

The start of our holiday was really bad, but Barcelona was great!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Booked well in advance for a better rate but had to pay the full deposit. E-mails answered very promptly. Called from airport and the guy was waiting for us with keys. Entrance is non-descript and can be easily missed. Lift is tiny. We stayed at # 41 on 4th Floor facing Carrer Valencia.
2 Adults and 2 kids. Plenty of space and storage. Views not great but who cares? No major problem with noise from road or neighbours and the AC worked vey well. Kid's room was closer to the lift and the entrance lobby and they had slight problem with neighbours using the lift few times late in the night and talking loudly one night. The main bedroom is far removed with heavy curtains and I slept very well. No problem with hot water at all like the previous poster. Could have done with an electric kettle and one of the ceramic hobs was not working. Reasonably well kept but the shower cubicle could do with some heavy duty cleaning.
One change of sheet & towels in one week stay but no cleaning. Beds comfortable. No safe for your valuables
The area felt safe. Not great for nightlife but excellent for families with loads of eateries including McDonald and Subway if you are stuck.
5 minute walk to Sagrada famila so that you can go early in the morning. Not a single English speaking channel in TV. Reduced to watching Disney channel and repeats of FC Barcelona football matches. The wireless worked smoothly with good connection speed.
Generally speaking we had a very good stay and I won't have any hesitation in recommending this for a familiy vacation.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed there for 3 nights. It is close to sagrada familia. Arrived there on a sunday and have to call the hotel reception from the airport. It cost 2 euros to call since it is a mobile. We were told to meet at 1pm at the apartment. It cost around 30-40 euros from airport to this apartment. Got a room on the third floor. The apartment is well equipped,clean and have all the basic necessities that you need. There are two showers. In our apartment there were 1 double bed and two twin beds. The living room is big in general and kitchen has all the utensils needed.. except a wine opener. We had to buy one but it was ok.

After our day trip to city centre on our first night, we got back around 11pm and we all wanted badly to take a shower. There was no hot water. Met Gino the next day. gino is the maintenance guy. Asked him to fix it. He came to look at it and he said he will come back to fix. He never did. Probably went to a siesta. We have to call the reception. We make roaming calls for these calls. Talked to Paco who came to our apartment quickly. He was helpful and gave us another set of keys and asked us to take a shower in another room and promised the shower will be fixed the next day. The next day it was fixed.

Apart from this hot water incident, the apartment in general is good. We even used the washing machine and there was powder provided. The washing has a two hour cycle which is not common in north america. Did not know how to do a quick wash. the tv has a lof of spanish channels. When you are in barcelona, you wont have time to watch tv. so we did not use it that much. Did use it to watch the world cup highlights though.

In brief, good apartment in general and location is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MH Apartments S. Familia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MH Apartments S. Familia

Address: Carrer Valencia 423, 08013 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 674 Specialty lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MH Apartments S. Familia 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MH Apartments Sagrada Familia are recently reformed, situated just next to Sagrada Familia monument (Eixample). Stylish and spacious 2 bedroom/bathrooms apartments (75-85 mt²) with all amenities and facilities included. The apartments has two bathrooms (one onsuite with bath and the other with shower. The kitchen has utensils and equipment. The living room has a double sofa bed. These apartments can accommodate from 2 to 6 people suitable for family holidays and business stays, a new accommodation option in Barcelona. Large, comfortable and equipped apartments with all amenities included in the price. We offer 24 hours customer service and one free cleaning service for stays of 7 or more nights. All the apartments have balconies, some of them looking out onto the main street València. All the apartments have international channels and free Wifi internet access. Available under request cot, hairdryer and DVD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your MH Apartments S. Familia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mh Apartments Sagrada Familia Hotel Barcelona
MH Apartments S. Familia Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MH Apartments S. Familia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.