We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and experience Barcelona from!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alternative Creative Youth Hostel

Save Saved
You added Alternative Creative Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alternative Creative Youth Hostel
Ronda Universitat 17, entresol - 3 | (Ring the golden bell on the bottom row), 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special 35€ value gift!!!
Ranked #31 of 668 Specialty lodging in Barcelona
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to stay and experience Barcelona from!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was my second stay at the Alternative Creative Youth Home and it was even better than the first time :)
As a solo female traveler I felt very comfortable and safe there. The staff is very caring, the place is cleaned daily and the atmosphere is very relaxed. They play good music and above all the hostel is right in the center of Barcelona so you can walk to most tourist attractions. Las Ramblas are just two minutes away. Thumps up for this great youth hostel. I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmö
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A friend recommend me this place and It was not just good was a great place, quiet, safe, clean, free internet, great location besides plaza catalunya. Friendly people and good prices. We are already planning this summer to visit Barcelona again thanks to this great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed at Alternative Creative Youth Home Hostel and had a great time, staff were very friendly and helpful, all the facilities you could ask for (fast wifi etc), very clean, fun but still quiet for sleeping. Great central location, can't rate this place too highly!
A special mention for Al and Michele! Just great. Love Barcelona!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyberjaya, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

After six nights staying in this lovely place and finding many friends( travelers and hostels staffs) there, I can definitely say this is the must see place in Barcelona just like Church of the Sacred Family, because of its great guys like Al, Michele, Ali, Eryca. in first moment when we arrived there Michele talked briefly about the city attractions, events and gave us two maps of Barcelona:-), I just had the same feeling with other travelers that Alternative Creative Hostel is just like Home. Thanks guys you made our trip too good to be true. I can't believe how many nice friends I found in six days.

Room Tip: we stayed in room number one with six other travelers which was great, have no idea about the sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Alternative Creative Youth Home hostel is the best youth hostel in Barcelona Spain. Friendly staff, clean, safe, located in a great location in downtown Barcelona. Free use of computers in hostel and they provide a free fast wireless internet. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great location, good management, clean, comfortable and an awesome place to meet fun likeminded backpackers. Stayed here for 4 nights and met some really cool friends that I'm yet in touch with. ACYH gave me a decent sized locker to keep my valuables safe. The friendly staff helped me with my laundry too. They helped me figure out getting around the town as well as out to girona where I sky dived. I didn't have trouble returning at odd hours or drinking past a certain time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a great stay here! Super friendly staff, clean and mondern rooms, kitchen, etc.! You start to feel at home straight away! Plus - perfect location in the middle of the city centre in a wonderful building!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alternative Creative Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alternative Creative Youth Hostel

Address: Ronda Universitat 17, entresol - 3 | (Ring the golden bell on the bottom row), 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 668 Specialty lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful heritage building in a fantastic location, right in the heart of the city, the Alternative Creative Youth Home is the perfect base from which to enjoy the city and make the most of its incredible opportunities. The hostel was created in 2006 to offer affordable accommodation especially to open-minded, adventurous, young people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your Alternative Creative Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alternative Creative Youth Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alternative Creative Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.