We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best End to Our Eurotrip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sant Jordi Hostel Rock Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sant Jordi Hostel Rock Palace to your Saves list
Sant Jordi Hostel Rock Palace
C/ Balmes 75, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 718 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best End to Our Eurotrip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I can't praise the staff and accommodations at Rock Palace enough. They went well above and beyond any of our other hostels. Whatever you do, do NOT miss out on the pub crawls. They are a blast, you meet a ton of people from the hostel, and the staff who join are amazing!

Room Tip: We stayed in a ten person room, which is really fun if you are looking to meet people and not be too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    23
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Excellent hostel from the minute we arrived, staff were very friendly, and offered us a secure place to keep our luggage until our room was ready as we arrived early in the day. The man at reception then offered suggestions of what we could do while we waited, and gave us a map with directions and markings of the places he suggested. A ten minute walk from the placa de cataluyna and La Rambla, the location is central, there is also a bus that runs from the road of the hostel to La Rambla (this bus also continues on to the beach which is about a 20 minute ride from the hostel). The rooms were very clean, and each guest has a large locker as well as a small area at the top of each bed for storage, also equipped with personal reading lights for night time. General lights in the rooms turn off around 11pm each night. The windows also cannot be opened after this time for safety reasons. The rooms did get very hot at night time however I feel this is to be expected since the window was closed and we were in a room of 10 people! We had one bad experience with a guest who caused the room to smell significantly however this was not the hostel's fault. The social aspect of the hostel is great - everyone is very friendly and inviting and the nightly pub crawls organised by the team that work there make everyone feel welcome.
The decor is amazingly modern and well thought-out. I was very impressed by the theming of each floor (each represents a different famous club/music venue and is decorated in that style). Although the roof top jacuzzi was not working while we were there it was still nice to be able to relax on the roof top in the sun
Would definitely stay here again.

The hostel website recommends getting the airport bus from the airport to the plaza de catalunya followed by the metro from there to the hostel, however it is only a ten minute walk - I would recommend walking even if you are transporting luggage because the metro takes longer, costs more, and involves a lot of stairs which is not ideal with luggage!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Excellent clean hostel with activity on offer every night. No obligation to join in though and easy to get a good night's sleep if that's what you'd rather. Would definitely recommend for people travelling in groups and people travelling alone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Absolutely fantastic. Fun atmosphere from the second we walked in. Staff were great - friendly, helpful, and full of information. The hostel arranged outings every night which was great to meet people. The kitchen was large and clean, and the free coffee and tea was nice. The rooms were clean and the key locking rooms and lockers were very secure. Great location too. Overall a great experience here!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I can't write anything negative about this hostel. The location was perfect, the staff were very friendly and helpful and we made some great friends with other travelers.
The hostel is extremely modern and clean. Every evening the staff arranged for everybody to go out together which was hilarious and the perfect way to meet other people from across the world.

I would definitely recommend this hostel to anybody visiting Barcelona and when I return I hope to stay at the Sant Jordi Rock Palace again.

(We stayed at the hostel for 4 nights at the end of May/beginning of June)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Close to transport, which is really handy. The rooms are all well cleaned especially in comparison to the other hostels I have stayed before, they are very basic which you would expect from a hostel but had lockers to keep belongings. The toilets/shower rooms are all very clean (coming from someone who is VERY picky about those). Staff were all friendly and on nights the whole hostel went out as a group which created a great social atmosphere. There was also a modern kitchen which anyone could use to cook meals if they didn't want to eat out. Had a fantastic time and met some great people.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The room are very basic but clean, so the most important thing!
There is a swimming pool on the roof, everything is new.. There are 2 cool rooma for hangout..
Staff very friendly!
Is in a good spot, 10 minutes walking from catalunya square, really close you can find a lot of things!
The room are very basic but clean, so the most important thing!
There is a swimming pool on the roof, everything is new.. There are 2 cool room for hung out..
Staff very friendly!
Is in a good spot, 10 minutes walking from catalunya square, really close you can find a lot of things!
Definitely raccomended

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sant Jordi Hostel Rock Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sant Jordi Hostel Rock Palace

Address: C/ Balmes 75, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 718 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Sant Jordi Hostel Rock Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Jordi Hostel Rock Palace Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sant Jordi Hostel Rock Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.