We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish & modern luxury! Shame about the food...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hesperia Tower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hesperia Tower to your Saves list
Hesperia Tower
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via, 144 | Hospitalet de Llobregat, 08907 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #111 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stylish & modern luxury! Shame about the food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

my boyfriend treated me to weekend in Barcelona, so when we pulled up to the Hotel in our over-priced taxi (20euros for a 10 min drive!) - I was AMAZED! The reception is a grand contemporary space with friendly, smiling staff. It's size is a little overwhelming and can make one feel a little out of place - but I just stuck on my over-sized glasses and put on my wannabe celebrity walk as i sauntered across to the desk.
The room matched the chic, modern style of the hotel - lots of sleek black marble, mirrors and chrome. Again - spacious! The bedroom part is a luxury design with a HUGE comfy bed and all the fancy technologies of a 5* hotel. Open the curtains and WOW! Floor to ceiling window giving you a lovely night view of the motorways - with the backdrop of Catalan hills, which is gorgeous to wake up to. You're not there to stare out the window all day now, are you!
Pay 12euros and get access to the gym and luxury spa - it's worth it!
Unfortunately - the food doesn't match the standard of the style of the hotel. As it's about 15/20 minutes from the city, we decided to treat ourselves and eat at the award-winning restaurant at the top of the tower - EVO. The service and view were excellent, but the food was NOT worth the 135euro price tag. I'd be happier spending that at a good restaurant in London and enjoy the food - but it really wasn't enjoyable here unfortunately. The next night, we ordered room service for a quick bite before heading back into town. Their idea of a veg and prawn stir fry - was just soaked in Soy sauce! Totally inedible! I was gasping for water after the first bite - so we sent it back, got ready and grabbed a lovely paella on the port front. That same morning, we have to pay 20euros for the breakfast buffet. Again NOT worth it. The scrambled eggs were powdered! Gross! Not impressed at all - a total rip of for 20euros, when you think for £20 in London would by you 2 decent full english breakfasts!
My recommendation - gorgeous place to stay, but the food really lets it down.Especially, when you're so far out of town and you don't have any choice.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    520
    154
    61
    34
See reviews for
135
749
57
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

Stayed here for 1 night for a business trip as my regular hotels were fully booked. The facilities, including bedroom, are above average, but wouldnt categorise them as luxurious. Two points of note:

(i) hotel is very isolated and overlooks the main dual carriageway from the airport to the city. Its a €10 taxi ride into town.

(ii) dining facilities are not cheap. I paid €65 for a meal without drinks

Overall, ok for a quick business trip, but certainly not for a romantic weekend away.

  • Liked — Smart facilities
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, OR
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

This was our first trip to Barcelona. We booked through Priceline so did not know what to expect. When we arrived in the hotel, we were very excited at the choice of hotel. It was beautiful - very classy but chic. It was one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. The elevators were actually a nice feature of the hotel. You just tap where you want to go and voila, it tells you which elevator you will take. The pictures posted are basically the same that i took so you will get what you see...

ROOM: The rooms were fantastic! Great design and very spacious. The bathroom is black granite with 2 sinks; separate toilet from the shower and large spacious closet. They provide slippers and a robe for you to use while you are there. Then a door that separates your bathroom from the bedroom - very nice! Large bed, very very comfortable and chair, desk, large flat screen TV or plasma (not sure). Then a 2 person sofa in the room. Be sure to order from the pillow menu...yes try out some different pillows!

SERVICE: The service was good. Easy check-in and check-out. We called to front desk two times for something and they were up to our room within minutes. The hotel was not fully booked so that may have had some bearing on the promptness. The only complaint was the room stayed pretty cool even after we asked to have it fixed.

We were all pleased with our stay and hope we can stay here again on another visit back to Spain.

  • Liked — Classy look and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Room stayed cold
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

We stayed in the Hesperia Tower for 3 nights. Not my idea of 5 star luxury. No bath, just a shower. We were promised a city view, but got a motorway view. But worst of all, on our last night we requested an early wake up call for the following morning as we had to catch our plane home, and they failed to do the call. When we came down and complained to the duty manager, he and his reception staff did not seem at all bothered by this critical failure of service. And forget about the spectacular views from the glass dome at the top. Guests are forbidden to enter unless they eat there. So, if you like lots of snazzy mirrors and black granite over good service then this is for you.

  • Liked — comfortable bed
  • Disliked — the service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianebates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel, and WOW is the opinion!! We updated to the tower club and was so well worth the 60euros per night!! We drunk the best champagne (yes champagne not cava) every night included in the price and when we finished one bottle they opened another. The express breakfast was lovely, a choice of cereals, fruit juices, cold meats, croissants and pastries. You could call in anytime in the day for drinks, coffee and snacks. Also included in the upgrade was membership to the Metro club next door which was a fabulous spa (small tip if you care going you need flip flops and a bathing hat for the pool). The staff at the hotel could not do enough for you and found them to be most helpful and tried very hard to get their english correct. The room was fabulous with a gorgeous view of the city, and the shower was out of this world.
Although a few kilometres from town centre it is on the metro line and we got a 3 day ticket at very reasonable cost that enabled us to use the metro and buses to go anywhere in the city. Book this hotel you will not regret it!!!!

  • Liked — it was perfect
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

I have just returned from a 3 night stay in the Hesperia Tower and thoroughly enjoyed the stay! I cannot recommend this hotel enough, and we will certainly be visiting again!!
Upon checking in, the receptionist noticed it was my boyfriends birthday the previous day. Just as we settled into the room there was a knock on the door and we received a lovely letter from the hotel manager congratulating my boyfriend on his birthday together with a bottle of champagne, strawberries and chocolate. A lovely gesture we thought.
The bedroom is a good size for a modern hotel. Although the hotel is near a main road there was no noice what so ever. The bed was very comfortable as was the sofa. The floor to ceiling window allowed great views of the city and the automatic curtains was another unusual touch. Obviously the plug sockets are European, and fitted all our appliances perfectly well, no issue there. There are various sets of lights to accomodate for bed time reading, The heating system was easy to use, with a fan, cool and heat system, which you could set to high, medium or low. We found ourselves using the fan a lot of the time, even though it was November!
The bathroom really does make the room though, the shower was fantastic, we couldnt get enough of the power jets. Very luxurious. A wide range of toilitries were topped up every day including shampoo, body lotion, shower gel, soap, toothbrush and toothpaste, soap, shower cap, shaving set, shoe shine.
The bathroom is more suited to couples however, as there are mirrors everywhere and you can see into the bathroom from the bedroom if you sit at the wrong angle! There are two door in the bathroom, one for the shower, the other for the toilet. The photographs really dont do the bathroom enough justice!
Unfortunately we had to move rooms as the glass on our shower shattered when we were out, but this was not a big issue. The staff were apologetic but it was a matter of health and safety anyway.
We booked this hotel on lastminute.com as a secret hotel. However, it is extremely easy to work out which hotel it is seeing as there arnt too many 5* hotels in Barcelona with 40 odd reviews! At £200 for 3 nights for two people it was a bargain!!!

  • Liked — The complimentary champagne and strawberries we received!!!
  • Disliked — The breakfast was very expensive - 24 euros for toast, tea etc
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

We stayed here for two nights and paid the extra for the club room. The hotel looks great and the rooms look very welcoming. The club check-in was very relaxing with us being sat down and enjoying a coffee while the rooms were sorted out.

Our initial thoughts on the rooms were wow. Large, clean and packed with extras as you would normally find in most 5* hotels.

The room has a large foyer area that leads to an open plan bathroom vanity area with a large walk in shower and seperate closet for the wc. The bedroom leads on from the bathroom where there is a comfy kings size bed and sofa. The literature states that the rooms have extras such as Bang and Olsfen sounds system but this is not correct. However there is a large plasma screen tv (but the dvd played that they advertise is not in the room). There is a multifunctional alarm/cd/radio/mp3 however our time was wrong on the clock and there was no instructions on how to change the time or set an alarm.
The electric sockets do not fit most UK adaptors which also proved a problem.

The rooms have free wifi but our room was obviosuly too far away to receive it which seemed really strange. The evening proved to be very disappointing in the club lounge. They offer tapa in the evening designed by the renowned chef Santi Santamaria. They were very disappointing and consisted of a glass of cold mushroom soup, a bite size wonton and a cheese stick (see picture). We asked for somemore as they had run out and waited 45 minutes for the same things to come out which seemed a little excessive.
The restaurant offered a very limited menu and the award winning restaurant was fully booked. The room service menu was ok but didn't seem value for money.
The bed was very comfortable with a selection of pillows available. The shower offered three types of jet but took ten minutes for us to figure out how to operate despite the instructions as some of the fixtures wouldn't move as the diagrams said they would.

I think that the hotel is very good on most things but the small things proved too much inconvenience for what is a 5* and would not stay here again.

  • Liked — Looked good
  • Disliked — Lack of consistency
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hesperia Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Tower

Address: Gran Via, 144 | Hospitalet de Llobregat, 08907 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#83 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hesperia Tower 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2006, the Hesperia Tower hotel has 280 luxurious and attractively furnished air conditioned rooms with fully equipped bathrooms to offer its guests. With rooms ranging from well-organized standard spaces through to the elegant presidential suite, guests are sure to find the exact accommodation they require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, NHHotels, Splendia, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hesperia Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Hotel Barcelona
Hesperia Tower Barcelona, Catalonia
Hesperia Tower Hotel Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hesperia Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.